#10 – the patchwork ring

Another one that’s been done before, though this time I left it at 8 patches rather than 9, and I think it works better. It seems to look a little more balanced.

This one is about 4.5″ in diameter; hand-pieced hand-dyed silk applied to a background of natural calico. I’ve couched a decorative wool yarn (also hand-dyed) around the edge just to finish off the outline.

I like this one. It reminds me a bit of the pagan wheel of the year with its eight festivals, so it carries a suggestion of the endless passing of time. Transcending the awareness of time can be an important factor in the search for peace.

This entry was posted in quilts, samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to #10 – the patchwork ring

  1. jacky says:

    The pagan wheel of the year….I havent heard of that before (I will have to google and find out more about that).

    Beautiful, earthy colours.

    Jacky xox

  2. Rachel says:

    It reminds me of the Round Table…

  3. Penny says:

    Hi Karen…I arrived today and thought oh, how great, she’s putting holes in her circles now! But I much prefer the thought of it being a Celtic wheel of the year. I am drawn to anything Celtic.

  4. Gill says:

    This is lovely!
    I’m off to read about the pagan wheel – thanks!!

  5. yes a balanced wheel is the only good one ….

Comments are closed.