#11 – the exploded nine patch circle

With this one, I wondered whether I could apply the patches of a nine-patch directly to the background rather than stitch them together in the usual way. The fabric is over-dyed and cut from a cotton skirt I found in a charity shop. You can still see the marks made by some machine stitching that I unpicked, and I quite like that. We get lines on our faces as we age; why shouldn’t cloth carry lines from age and wear too? I’ve couched a wool boucle yarn around the edge just to define the circumference a little better.

Circle circumference is about 4.5″; the background is plain calico rescued from our old sofa. Today I’m working on a small quilt that was made ‘by stealth’ – which is what I call it when something is constructed in between other things, in a spare few minutes here and there. Those few minutes all add up eventually. I’ll also be adding a little more quilting to ‘Midnight’.

And there are still three days to join in here and here if you’d like to.

This entry was posted in quilts, samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to #11 – the exploded nine patch circle

  1. Christi says:

    You got me right here: “We get lines on our faces as we age; why shouldn’t cloth carry lines from age and wear too?” That’s a mighty big story indeed, K.

  2. Amanda says:

    It’s like looking through a window.

    I must say that your couching of threads is starting the attach itself to me. The quilt I did for Barbara has now been finished and she added two very fine pipings between it and the binding and it looks smashing. The couching has a similar effect. I was going to couch around the binding on the SAHR but forgot. I will have to see where this goes!! And it’s great for using those lovely unconventional threads we all have.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Exactly! Couching is probably my favourite way to use yarns. I especially like it between the edge of a quilt and the binding. I intend to do a lot more with it in the future…

  3. Eva says:

    This fabric is charming! It reminds me of roller-painted walls in farmhouses in my childhood. And the chartreuse gives it a new life. You are right about the marks from old seams.

  4. karen says:

    did you really have to remind me about the lines on my face!!! I do love that connection though, lines on face, lines on cloth….even if it renders ignoring the mirror useless!!

  5. Penny says:

    Coming from a person with those lines on her face…how about a wrinkled circle?!
    Love watching you explore these circles.

  6. flaming nora says:

    Hi I’ve just returned your compliment over at my place and had a good look around. I love this circle it reminds me of the fragments of 18th C fabric I saw at the threads of feeling exhibition at the foundling museum. The slightly imperfect worn and loved nature of the cloth gives it an instant feeling of having an interesting history to tell. I love aged fabrics and often have to achieve this effect in my day job. Really enjoyed my little lunch time trip over to see you and shall be back!

  7. gt says:

    This is a very lovely circle!

  8. Jill says:

    hmmm i may well have to explore faded wrinkles in cloth – this is being a rather wonderful conversation, all these circles – just beautiful Karen

  9. sally jo says:

    your fabric is so wonderful – antique looking with a new modern color. really like the effect.

  10. Rachel says:

    It is a charming fabric, and the yarn couched around the edge provides an interesting and subtle bit of texture.

Comments are closed.