Lightness of being

Good grief, two posts in one day.

Well… I just finished ‘Lightness of Being’ today, having started it quite a while ago, and I’ve also got a few little circles stacked up as well – the blog is not quite keeping pace with the rate of production!

hand-pieced, hand-quilted. 27" x 28"

The construction for this quilt happened in various stages. The background was made from woven strips layered onto a linen backing, with scraps of fabric laid on the surface. The whole thing was then covered with cotton muslin before quilting.

The patchwork square was made during the evenings before being applied to the background.

This piece owes a debt to Kazimir Malevich’s ‘White on White’: I was aiming for a kind of weightlessness with the placing of the patchwork square within the frame. Part of the ‘Peace’ series – and I have a bit more to say about that, maybe next week – I wanted it to have the impression of floating in space. I added a running stitch circle around the square for a little stability, as well as for consistency with the rest of the series.

A little relaxing stitching this evening, I think – and another circle tomorrow.

This entry was posted in quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lightness of being

  1. Penny says:

    Love the delicate textures of the different types of fabric. Beautiful!

  2. jane says:

    This is the most beautiful yet – but I am amazed at how many pieces you produce. You must give so many ,many hours each day to your work; and despite the obvious similarities, the cloths are all so different.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thank you, Jane. Several hours every day, yes. I think of it as work, but, fortunately, I love my ‘job’ so it’s never a chore.

  3. Jill says:

    breathtaking!

  4. jude says:

    ha, a shift!

  5. deb says:

    Beautiful!

  6. sally jo says:

    so soft and beautiful – love it.

  7. judy martin says:

    the many colours of white – I find them so meditative.
    This is a beautiful piece.

Comments are closed.