# 12 – the nine-patch window circle

Another one that’s been done before – but I really like the square hole in this round peg.

4.5″ in diameter, hand pieced from eco-dyed cotton by the lovely Arlee with straight stitch edging in three strands of space-dyed embroidery cotton. The background is vintage tea-dyed linen from an old tablecloth.

I’ve just noticed that you can see the fold marks where the linen helped me to find the centre of the background before placing the circle. I thought I worked alone, but now I see that I have loyal and willing colleagues, made from cloth. The best kind.

This entry was posted in quilts, samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to # 12 – the nine-patch window circle

  1. beautiful work. Love how the material works with us sometimes!!!x lynda

  2. Jill says:

    i really like the feel of this

  3. jude says:

    what if the center square was missing? a real window.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Aha… I’ve been investigating just such an idea (before I read your words, honestly!) – and I think it might be a whole other story…

  4. Rachel says:

    Absolutely. It’s great when the materials help instead of fighting us!

  5. Jan Marriott says:

    ..you really are exploring this theme in all its subtleties.

  6. Penny says:

    Love these colors – cool and shady!

  7. Gill says:

    Love the square peg in the round hole!!

  8. Eva says:

    An ancient Chinese coin! Bronze with green rust on the edges. What a lovely find.

  9. Els says:

    Your nine patch circles amaze me again and again … Love that exploded one: had to look very carefully!
    And ofcourse : that big White on white!

  10. kaite says:

    i thought it reminded me of something, of course, an old Chinese coin with verdigris edges. very lovely.

Comments are closed.