A midnight moon

39" x 39"

This one – ‘Midnight’ –  was finished over the weekend: a combination of patchwork and applique, with the binding pieced from black and ivory strips; all pieced and stitched by hand, as always. I really don’t think machine stitching is any quicker than working by hand. In fact, I think it would take me longer to work by machine. I know it looks as if I produce a lot of work, but I never feel as if anything is rushed. I don’t think I stitch particularly quickly. I do stitch a lot though.

lower left corner

The darkness of the background makes this quilt very difficult to photograph.

lower right corner

I did my best. It’s been very wet and overcast here this weekend.

upper right corner

Not really the best kind of weather for indoor photography…  I never use a flash; I don’t like what it does to the colour of things.

upper left corner

This is number six (I think, though I’m starting to lose count) in the series concerning the search for peace. There has been some sort of shift while working on this cloth, and I haven’t quite worked out what it is, yet. I might say some more about that when I can be sure I’ve caught the words. Today will be a day for thinking about that.

This entry was posted in quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A midnight moon

  1. aracne says:

    This is very inspiring, too. I like the way you cut bits of fabric and stitched them together. And the variery of fabrics, the use of embroidered ones, the colours…I am thinking of a curtain for my bedroom. Good thing that I found your blog!

  2. Sally jo says:

    Midnight moon on a nine patch sky – so rich.

  3. Jeannie says:

    Karen, this is very beautiful. I really like the shading of the moon and the background fabric is delicious. Have a wonderful week.

  4. Amanda says:

    I want this one.

  5. Rachel says:

    I too tend to work by hand as much as possible. The extra time it takes can be used for thinking about the next stage.

  6. Eva says:

    I love it! Amazing work. The edge seems to hint on the periodical nature of the moon, like a phase calendar — was it intended?

    • Karen Turner says:

      No, it wasn’t intentional in that way, Eva – but I do like the idea… I was kind of thinking of the little squares of white as stars. Little breaks in the darkness, tiny glimmers of hope. But I like your idea very much.

  7. jane says:

    I was going to write something, but actually I’m lost for words

  8. Jill says:

    stunning! – my favourite so far. You are so prolific in your stitching – inspiring indeed 🙂

  9. Penny says:

    This is my favorite so far — the moon just happens to be my talisman. I love the shading on the moon and the background is rich and gorgeous.

  10. claire says:

    With you on the hand stitch. Beautiful work.

  11. Bea says:

    Blue moon! Magic!

  12. suzy quaife says:

    The moon is shaded beautifully but love the background just as much!

  13. Janice says:

    I saw this one on Facebook the other day when I was taking a break from studying. There was no title but I knew instantly it was the moon, and it did indeed say peace to me – or rather ‘clair de lune’ was what it said, but they amount to the same thing. The larger photograph really shows clearly all your quilting stitching, and it’s beautiful – just perfect for an ethereal, mystical, eternal-universal feel.

Comments are closed.