#17 – the segmented circle

3.5″ diameter, hand-dyed silk, hand-pieced over paper; hand-dyed boucle yarn couched around the edge. The background is silk noil, tea-dyed using redbush. My mother will recall the afternoon last month when I whipped her tea-bag away – I think I did manage to wait until she’d finished with it – and stuck it in a pot with an assortment of scraps.

Today looks as if it could be a bit of a mixed bag, and I may not get much done – but we’ll see.

This entry was posted in quilts, samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to #17 – the segmented circle

  1. suzy quaife says:

    Those hand dyed silks are so soft looking! Not sure what silk noil is?

    • Karen Turner says:

      Silk noil is a kind of slightly nobbly, textured silk – still quite fine and soft, but feels more substantial than plain silk. A little bit like a finer version of cotton osnaburg, or evenweave linen, if that helps – it has a kind of homespun feel. You can see the detail of the weave by clicking the picture to enlarge. Difficult to describe, actually; it’s not really ‘like’ any other kind of fabric. It often has a peculiar smell.

  2. chris gray says:

    Love the subtle colours in the segments…

  3. Penny says:

    I love silk noil – it always looks organic to me, in a soft way. This is a lovely convergence into the center of the circle.

  4. Lenka Štrosová says:

    Sea in circle ….

  5. Rachel says:

    I seem to remember reading somewhere that maquette makers for movies actually dry and then open up herbal teabags to create “leaf-litter” for forest floors. So you have a precedent for your abstraction of your mother’s teabag!

  6. Jennie says:

    Loving those colours Karen and also i love Silk noil…..sending you an email so watch your inbox lol x

  7. Els says:

    That greenish circle is beautiful but my true “winner” should be the velvet one I think: I would like to touch it!
    The big “landscape” one would be a good runner-up!

Comments are closed.