Peace on paper

I don’t know what the problem has been – maybe just fatigue – but I took a couple of days off and shuffled paper around for a bit.

I found that I had this huge pile of hand-painted paper, some of it from several years ago. I thought it was better used than sitting in a box out of sight. So I did cutting and sticking, not really thinking, just letting colours sit together. And I do feel a little better. I don’t know how or why, but there it is. A change is as good as a rest, and all that.

I found a spiral-bound book with a few coloured pastel papers still in it, so I used that to stick everything in. I’ll probably make some sort of cover for it.

I can see some of these working as smaller pieces in the peace series – maybe stitched cloths about 15″ square or so.

In the true spirit of time out, today I’m going to sort my fabric cupboard – tidying colours together, folding crumpled heaps etc. Later, and perhaps tomorrow as well, I intend to dye.

This entry was posted in work on paper and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Peace on paper

  1. Penny says:

    So peace doesn’t have to be round!
    Very successful for a day off.

  2. Penny says:

    Sometimes the creative process is all about ‘puttering around’ – looking at pieces that have nothing to do with the present project. Looks like you made good use of your ‘day off’!

    • Karen Turner says:

      I tend to think that everything has something to do with something, even the things that seem to have nothing to do with anything. Nice to have a day or two shuffling colours around 🙂

  3. karen says:

    I am also finding that a change is as good as a rest….you have some great compositions here. I am about to answer your request! a post imminent on the reverse of the paperwork pieces!

  4. Jennie says:

    These look lovely Karen.

  5. Rachel says:

    I think this is why I always have several projects running at once. I can always be thinking about one while another is hibernating!

  6. Lilli says:

    Love your papers! The colours are so gorgeous.

  7. Janice says:

    Oooh, I love your pile of handpainted papers! And also what you have done with them, of course! Your spiral bound book will be a joy to look at. Hope you’re feeling refreshed.

Comments are closed.