#20 – the seeded circle

1.5″ diameter, on plain mediumweight linen, with space-dyed cotton perle no. 8.

Very small, and very simple.

Still on the subject of seeds – though of a different kind – a few weeks ago, I noticed some little seedlings popping up all over the garden. At first I thought they might be sunflowers, from dropped bird seed, so I left them to grow, looking forward to seeing what they grew into. They turned out to be broccoli.

This entry was posted in quilts, samples, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to #20 – the seeded circle

  1. Maggi says:

    A lovely circle. Was the broccoli a gift from the birds or had you grown some before?

  2. Eve says:

    How funny! Maybe you’ll get sunflowers next time….Your work is lovely, very subtle.

  3. Jennie says:

    I love this stitch Karen…..ive got lots of sewing now…but wished id made my squares a little larger….lol.

  4. love this circle. l think l would have preferred sunflowers too!

  5. sally jo says:

    so original – love it.

  6. lyn says:

    I think it’s nice to get some free broccoli!
    love the seed circle.
    xxx

  7. deb says:

    I like this one! I love doing seed stitch, very meditative. Broccoli is good for you but certainly not as exciting as a sunflower!

  8. aracne says:

    This circle is lovely, the colour of the thread is also very pleasing.
    Sometimes simple stitches give the most attractive pieces.

  9. karen says:

    I love seed stitch, it is so effective. and to answer your question…so far all day yesterday……up until midnight bedtime from about 1 p m with a break to eat.

  10. Rachel says:

    Delicate and simple, just as you say!

    As for the broccoli – I hope you like it…

  11. Janice says:

    Beautiful stitching and colouring Karen. Broccoli is good too!

Comments are closed.