Cotton lace net

Sometimes known as bobbin net, or ‘bobbinet‘ as it seems to be spelled these days. It’s a curious fabric, and one that I’ve used in the foreground of ‘Perspective’:

It’s made from cotton, and is very soft, almost weightless and yet surprisingly strong. My piece was originally ecru and, as you can see, dyes well. It has an interesting texture; it almost looks knitted, though it is woven. It can be difficult to find, and is quite expensive. When you hold it up to the light, it is almost transparent:

But laid flat it becomes more substantial.

The right and wrong sides differ very slightly, and you can use that to good effect. I have a few pieces of this, hand-dyed and ready to become part of something.

All fabrics have their own story, I know. I just thought this was quite a good one.

This entry was posted in Reflections, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cotton lace net

  1. Penny says:

    Very interesting fabric, the texture seems perfect for dying. I almost reminds me of the ‘thermal’ blankets material, but thinnner I think. You got some marvelous colors out of it.

  2. deanna7trees says:

    interesting fabric. that green color is marvelous.

    • Karen Turner says:

      I really ought to keep more careful records when dyeing fabrics. I can’t remember how I got this colour. I know it was lemon yellow with either ultra marine or midnight blue, or possibly a mixture of both, but I have no idea about what quantities.

  3. elizabeth says:

    Totally agree with the two ladies above.

  4. Jennie says:

    These look wonderful Karen….where do you buy it from x

    • Karen Turner says:

      I found mine on eBay a while ago, probably last year. I would guess that Whaleys of Bradford will probably stock it. It is quite hard to find!

  5. Sweetpea says:

    As you may already know about me, I go weak in the knees for lace. So this – bobbinet – being a “replacement” for lace (according to the link) is intriguing. A tulle?!? curious. Lovely to see what you’re doing with it here, K.

    I have clicked on your last photo to enlarge and that bit of blue in the upper left corner has me staring. Overlapping silks?…not sure. So much good stuff happening here. Dare I say how much I envy the time you have to dedicate to your work. Thank you for posting all of your stitching travels!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, C – layered silk, yes, with chiffon, net and various other fabrics. I know I’m very lucky to have so much time for this. Even so, the days still don’t seem to be long enough!

  6. @home says:

    Isn’t it gorgeous, and it takes the dye beautifully, perfect for your work 🙂 I’m always guilty of stringing two words together…. it’s only because I have spellcheck installed that I realise how often I do 😦
    Sue Xx

  7. Gina says:

    What a beautiful fabric. It looks gorgeous dyed that lovely green

  8. Rachel says:

    You have some lovely colours there – I’m really looking forward to seeing what you do with them!

  9. sally jo says:

    Beautiful fabric and colors and I appreciate the education – always need more of that. Thanks

Comments are closed.