Pausing between

It’s good to leave a little space between one large quilt and another, I find. That breathing space gives both me and the cloth a little time to collect ourselves before we move forward again. This weekend I’m stopping to look at things. There is nothing quite so delicious and inviting as a jumble of threads:

(What – did you think my threads would be all neat and tidy, all sorted into organised little skeins? Well, they are kind-of organised: these are ‘brown and neutral’ and live together in one see-through box, and that’s about as tidy as it ever gets)

… or a box full of fragments of cloth:

And isn’t it nice to try a few things next to each other, just to see how they like it?

And discovering hidden little half-finished orphans that at last have found a home:

Sifting, seeing, joining. Stitching really doesn’t get much more relaxing than this.

book cover, in progress

This entry was posted in In progress, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Pausing between

  1. Rebecca Rapport says:

    I just can’t help but say again, I love your purposeful quilting. I must find a way to integrate the same into my sewing and quilting expressions.

    Rebecca

  2. Jan Marriott says:

    Agreed…love playing with my scarps/scarves/wool/thread

  3. Rachel says:

    There’s so much thinking time involved in some stitching, that it is good to spend a bit of time quietly enjoying our wonderful threads and fabrics, without actually doing anything with them!

  4. I am so glad your thread box looks like minex like the little piece you meade. Colours are gorgeous.x lynda

  5. Penny says:

    I love that time between pieces – sitting and sifting through threads and fabrics and gee-gaws and such! Its a wonderful, thoughtful, peaceful time. Come to think of it – it goes right along with your Peace quest.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Yes, it does, Penny… though the main thing I’m thinking is that I really must do something about that blue scraps box. I can’t get the lid on!

  6. oh..forgot to say….like the big letters on your comments bit!!!Hax Very good for when l am tired at nightx

    • Karen Turner says:

      There doesn’t seem to be any way of changing the font size! It just looks like I’m shouting at everyone. Or talking in that voice we use for old people and anyone who isn’t English – very slowly and clearly and slightly too loud… 😦

  7. tina slipper says:

    oh I love it- back to the salt mines……….

  8. Cathy says:

    Thank you so much for the lovely comment you left on my blog. I have had a good old rummage through yours and thoroughly enjoyed it, particularly the circles – my but they are so lovely………

  9. Jennie says:

    Loving those threads and all your work Karen….im a little stuck on what im doing at the moment and i seem to have lost your last email….what with everything thats been going on x

Comments are closed.