The week of small things

This is turning out to be a week of many commitments, so I will probably not be able to return to ‘work’ – that is, the next peace quilt currently awaiting my attention – until next week at the earliest.

However, I did manage to finish the book cover I started on Friday. This, if you remember, is what came out of the boxes of scraps and jumbles of threads.

This sketchbook (approximately 12″ x 8″) is full of the little collages I put together a couple of weeks ago. I’ll return to this at some point.

I really like these little alphabet beads. I’ve used them many times before to make the title of a sketchbook. I like the way you can string them in a line – they’re through-drilled horizontally – which makes them very easy to stitch down.

So this will be a week of small things. Little jobs that are overdue plus little jobs with a pressing deadline; a medium-sized task that must be done by Friday and which already seems a little overwhelming. If it all goes well, I’ll be happy to share it along the way. If it turns out to be beyond my capabilities, I think I will probably just lie low for a while. I do like a challenge.

This entry was posted in Cloth books, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The week of small things

  1. Jan Marriott says:

    Its OK to take a break….I’m sure all sorts of wonderful images and ideas will occur in the meantime.

  2. Jeannie says:

    Wonderful place to keep your collages. I also like those alphabet beads. I made Christmas ornaments for each member of the family and they were great to use for names in the tassel part. Enjoy your week and wishing you luck on your project.

  3. karen says:

    any chance we can see inside this beautiful book? pretty please?

  4. Jennie says:

    That is wonderful Karen….your such a fast worker.

  5. Penny says:

    Love your book — have a good week, accomplishing much and living each moment at a time.

  6. love the cover..is sooooooooooooogorgeous.xx Annoiying when other things take over our time for sewing etc isn’t it? Haxx

  7. Rachel says:

    Well, if you need to stop and concentrate on something else, do so. Your sketchbook cover looks good, and we’re looking forward to more Peace in the future!

  8. iHanna says:

    Oh this book cover is magic! Love it, just love it. Can you please send it to me? Just kidding, but I do get cravings when I see it: I need to sew something together soon. 🙂

  9. MoF says:

    Thank you for the inspiration on how to use the alphabet beads which have been laying around in a box for simply years. Too small and not heavy enough for lace bobbin spangles and not big enough for jewellery.

  10. Janice says:

    I love your book cover Karen – and all from stuff you had lying around and partly completed! Fab!

  11. Sally jo says:

    Beautiful book – I’m inspired!

Comments are closed.