Four circles

The blog has a little catching up to do, so I’m posting a circle bonanza. Today – for one day only – you get four for the price of one. These, if you remember, form part of a set of 36 sample circles which will eventually be stitched together to form one quilt. Ten more to go.

#23 – the strip-pieced circle: foundation pieced, 3.5″ diameter on tea-dyed linen background. This is one of the rare occasions when it would have been quicker and easier by machine!

#24 – the reverse applique circle. Furnishing fabric with hand-dyed dupion silk behind; 3.5″ diameter; edged with split stitch.

#25: the woven strip circle. 3.5″ diameter; woven strips of silk and cotton, edged with couched wool boucle yarn.

And finally, #26: the metal circle. Inspired by a gold foil chocolate wrapper, which forms the 2″ base. Copper shim circle in the centre, attached with gold thread and a metal charm. The background is hand-dyed shirting cotton.

Tomorrow I have a special treat for you: I will be giving away some circles. It’s not quite as exciting as it sounds, I’m afraid. 😉

This entry was posted in samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Four circles

  1. Jeannie says:

    I love the look of the woven circle and others, but the candy wrapper circle is gorgeous!

  2. Viv Manning says:

    They are all lovely, but I am particularly enamoured of the woven one. Lovely idea for a sampler.

  3. Rachel says:

    I rather like the reverse appliqué circle, myself, although whether that is because it’s a technique I’ve not yet tried….!

    I’m really beginning to look forward to seeing the finished quilt!

  4. Jan Marriott says:

    I have an immediate connection with the strip piece green circle, look forward to seeing them together, will be very interesting.

  5. Sally jo says:

    Lovely background fabrics and the circles are all so beautiful and very different. The foil is so original and adds sparkle.

  6. Gill says:

    I love the woven and the strip circle – and green as well, my favourite colour!

  7. karen says:

    the woven strip circle is my favourite and as for ‘quicker and easier’ with the machine…maybe so yet not half as therapeutic or satisfying.

  8. Jennie says:

    I like them all as they are so different in everyway…..will be looking forward to seeing them all stitched together sometime in the future x

  9. Penny says:

    Isn’t it wonderful how you can create so many different designs while working within the proscribed circle. Lovely!

  10. deemallon says:

    this circle series is so peaceful! and so beautifully crafted…

Comments are closed.