#27 – the couched spiral

I like the fact that this one is a solid shape that is made from just a line. The line (in this case a length of space-dyed viscose yarn) coils round on itself enough to give the illusion that this is a field of colour.

1.25″ diameter circle on hand-dyed shirting cotton.

Time can be simultaneously linear and solid.

This entry was posted in samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to #27 – the couched spiral

  1. Jeannie says:

    The yarn is gorgeous and perfect for your spiral.

  2. suzy quaife says:

    Just beautiful!

  3. one word for it..beautiful! x lynda

  4. Janice says:

    Such beautiful stitching, Karen. It is The Circle of Stitching Life!

  5. Jill says:

    this is one of my favourites yet πŸ™‚

  6. Penny says:

    Being a lover of spirals — this one is very special to me!! Love it!!!

  7. Maggi says:

    Love the sheen on the yarn.

  8. Rachel says:

    Lovely. Space-dyed threads do help add another dimension to embroidery, don’t they!

  9. Sally jo says:

    Your spiral is so beautiful as is the background.

  10. arlee says:

    this one really floats, the technique, the yarn choice and the background–perfect marriage

  11. helen salo says:

    Wonderful!!

  12. Karen Turner says:

    Thanks, all, for the encouragement. This one was very therapeutic.

  13. Sweetpea says:

    This long succession of ideas that your are *circling* through, I for one, am so grateful that you are sharing them here. Today’s spiral is such an inspiration to me…I want to try this!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Show us if you do try it, C πŸ™‚
      I’m enjoying all these circles far more than I expected. I think I shall be quite sad to stitch them all together!

Comments are closed.