#28 – the negative space circle

I wondered how it would look if the square was full and the circle empty – not as in reverse applique, which involves ‘backfilling’ the space – but in a different way.

The lines of running stitch are approximately 1/8″ apart, and the central space has a diameter of about 2.5″. The background is natural linen.

This entry was posted in In progress, samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to #28 – the negative space circle

  1. Sally jo says:

    I really like this one – a great “what if” as jude would say.

  2. Amo says:

    Ah ha!! just seen the reverse appliqué one too. I was wondering when the anti circles would start to show.

  3. @home says:

    Yep, it works, beautifully as usual 🙂
    Sue Xxx

  4. Jill says:

    mmmm – this really attracts me – often what is in the ‘negative’ space – the unseen is so very interesting … this works well

    • Karen Turner says:

      Exactly. My ‘proper’ training is in literature, and reading between the lines is similar I think. Seeing what isn’t said.

  5. Maggi says:

    Lovely one. The coloured thread gives the background a very subtle effect.

  6. Jeannie says:

    Your circle is wonderful! It is like it was hiding and someone parted the curtains so you could see it. Last winter Melanie Testa had a group of us drawing with ruling pens and one of the exercises was the negative space. I loved how objects would appear.

  7. Rachel says:

    That does work very well, and makes a great contrast with all the circles that have the designs and textures inside them. I think you could make up an entire series of these!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Funnily enough, I would like to do more with this technique… it may be a while, but I think I’ll find some space somewhere.

  8. Penny says:

    Calm and simple….Now that is a circle to meditate on.

  9. Eve says:

    Love the idea of this one. Still thinking about what you wrote yesterday about time being both linear and solid – how do you mean that it is solid? Interesting idea.

    • Karen Turner says:

      I guess the word ‘field’ or ‘plane’ might have been more appropriate/useful than ‘solid’ – I was thinking about how lots of dots can join up to make a line, and then how lots of lines can lie side by side to make a plane or field. And then I was thinking if time is a line, then lots of times lying side by side might also become a field or plane, giving the illusion that time is solid as well as linear. I don’t know if I explained that adequately. I think the circle says it better than I did!

      • Eve says:

        No, you put it very well! I see what you mean now. I was thinking of time maybe also being a spiral like your circle, like the seasons coming round again each year and so on. But I like the mathematical idea of the time plane.

  10. Janice says:

    Wow! Although it doesn’t look like ‘negative’ space, if you see what I mean. It looks like positive space, apart from all the daily ‘noise’. It actually makes me think of meditation and inner calm.

  11. Dan R says:

    surprisingly compelling.

  12. love this circle……everyone has said what l wished to say..so…gorgeousx

  13. karen says:

    oh dear….I honestly can’t speak….it’s amazing..

Comments are closed.