#29 – the felted wool circle

Felted wool is such a delight to stitch on; I don’t know why I don’t use it more often. I found this tiny scrap of hand-dyed felted wool, which came to me as a gift last year. I think this is the right place for it to feel at home.

Just a 2.5″ circle, on hand-dyed cotton, with very simple hand embroidery. The cotton threads are hand-dyed too. That pistil stitch around the edge is one that I like a lot, though I don’t use it that often. I find it very interesting that each type of embroidery stitch has its own personal qualities, and that sometimes only one particular stitch will do.

And congratulations to Eve – the set of four stickers will be on its way to you soon. Thank you, everyone who joined in. I wish I had enough stickers to send some to all of you.

This entry was posted in samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to #29 – the felted wool circle

  1. Amanda says:

    Beautiful colour.

  2. Jeannie says:

    The felted wool is gorgeous, as are your stitches.

  3. Jill says:

    oh the delights of the seemingly simple – i am loving this one a lot 🙂

  4. Sally jo says:

    Rich textures and colors.

  5. kaiteM says:

    pistil stitch? i must look up how to do it, it’s lovely and just right for the occasion.
    hand made and dyed felt is like stitching thru butter, i love it.

  6. Rachel says:

    I’ve always found felt rather a trial to stitch though, so I’m very impressed with your doing it at all, but I must admit that the colours in that piece of felt would tempt me to persevere!

  7. I love felt – soft no fraying and easy to stitch. I have used it as wadding in the background to my guitar piece – it’s great. You have wonderful stitching here and all your photos are wonderful. x

  8. Eve says:

    Thank you so much! I am delighted to win your circle stickers and will look forward to seeing them in real life.
    The colour of the felted wool here is beautifully intense; I hadn’t heard of pistil stitch either, but it looks just right here.

  9. congrats to Eve on winning the stickers..lucky ladyx PIstol stitch? never hear of it but will certainly be using it in my work from now on..thanks for showing it to usxxxlynda

  10. Eva says:

    True, felt is very nice to stitch on. I once integrated felt pieces into a quilt of mine; they rubbed off in no time.

  11. Jennie says:

    Amazing work here Karen.

Comments are closed.