#30 – the mixed media circle

Paper and cloth aren’t really so different. If you spin cellulose fibres, you get viscose; if you ‘felt’ them you get paper. An over- simplified account, but broadly factual. This circle is made from handmade paper and silk – dupion silk and a little bit of kozo fibre, which comes from the mulberry tree that feeds the silkworms. I like the bit of tree fibre that kind of holds the paper and fabric together here.

I found a scrap of appropriate text from an old book of poetry and a circle of hand-painted paper, and committed the terrible faux-pas of using glue to attach them to the silk. Glue! It did feel a bit like an act of rebellion, and I know at least one of you will be doing a very sharp intake of breath at this point. Sometimes the easiest, most obvious way really is the best.

Anyway, I like it. 3″ diameter; heavyweight natural linen background.

This entry was posted in samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to #30 – the mixed media circle

  1. Gill says:

    I like this too!

  2. sally jo says:

    as long as it isn’t laundered, it shouldn’t matter. great colors and text.

  3. Liz Price says:

    this is my favourite so far – it has personality and depth!
    Liz

  4. Rachel says:

    Altogether different textures here, aren’t they!

  5. Penny Berens says:

    Oh, Karen, this is my delicious. I was going to say my favorite to date, but I hate to pick favorites when I have loved them all.

    • helen salo says:

      my comment exactly! I just thought oh my favorite, but wait there was…..so totally agree. πŸ™‚

  6. Penny Berens says:

    Whoops delete the ‘my’!

  7. oh wow….love this circle. I certainly smiled when you used the word GLUE!!!! who cares….anyway you can get waterproof glue these days. Your work is amazing and adventous and oh so much morexxxgo for it girlxxxlynda

  8. deanna7trees says:

    beautiful combo of medias.

  9. Connie Rose says:

    You could fuse the paper to cloth — they’re both fibers!

  10. Penny says:

    Wonderful departure from the other ‘peace’ circles — I love using quotes and this one you found is perfect. Lovely!!

  11. karen says:

    glue???? sharp intakes of breath here…..

  12. MoF says:

    A very sharp intake of breath but I am still breathing and marvelling at the skill of the artist.

Comments are closed.