A pair

On the home straight now, today I have a pair of circles. Not quite a matching pair, but maybe a related pair.

#31: the patched circle:

2.5″ cotton batik disc with a half-inch square of dupion silk patched to the surface. Hand-dyed cotton background.

And #32: the layered patched circle:

3.5″ circle made from layered and collaged fabrics, with a (roughly) 1″ square piece of evenweave linen applied with little straight stitches. Again, a cotton background.

Patching things up; making peace.

Not many more to go now before we get to the magic thirty-six.

This entry was posted in samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A pair

  1. Sally jo says:

    these are very sweet, patched but good enough for peace. my cousin has sent me my grandmother’s apron and she said it has been mended – I can hardly wait to check the mail tomorrow and I will treasure it always.

  2. Jude Whaites says:

    The anticipation is killing me, can’t wait to see all thirty-six together. It will be magic.

  3. Rachel says:

    Charming. Love the patchwork!

  4. You know me, l love your circles but have to admit this is not one of my favorites..but still beautifulxxxx Nearly there my friendxxlynda

    • Karen Turner says:

      I can please all of the people some of the time, or some of the people all of the time, but I can’t please all of the people all of the time : -)
      Actually I don’t mind these. Not my favourites either, but they’re not at the bottom of the pile.

  5. Eve says:

    I like those straight stitches/marks on top of the linen square. Like writing or a tally – is it intentional that there are 36 stitches? (or am I rather sad for counting…)

    • Karen Turner says:

      Really, 36? How about that… not intentional – I didn’t count them – but there are, of course, 36 squares/circles altogether. Thank you for noticing!

  6. kaiteM says:

    i like # 31.

  7. Sue says:

    Love the colours on this one. Looking forward to seeing the end result, how exciting!!!

Comments are closed.