#33 – the confetti circle

This turned out to be a really great way of using very tiny scraps – the ones that are just too small even for patchwork. I layered and fused them to a bit of very lightweight iron-on interfacing then laid this piece of sheer sparkly tulle over the top with a few lines of running stitch. The circle is about 3″ in diameter.

It reminds me of raindrops on a window pane – something we’re seeing quite regularly here at the moment. Summer in the UK seems to be more or less the same as winter in the UK but with less snow.

This entry was posted in samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to #33 – the confetti circle

  1. kaiteM says:

    yes it’s fun doing this. i like your sparkly tulle, it does look like raindrops, that’s something we’re seeing a lot of currently too

  2. Sally jo says:

    Once again you have managed to come up with another innovative circle – not only is it green (no waste) but it looks terrific. Cheers

  3. karen says:

    a continuous winter….now I would like that.

  4. Penny says:

    This one looks to me like the view from a plane flying over jolly old England.

  5. Janice says:

    My goodness, you have been busy over the last few days! Yes, it does look exactly like raindrops on the window. It’s so satisfying to use up all your scraps. It also reminds me of one of those British Gas home ‘planets’ on the advertisements! As for British summers – it seems to me we have our warm, dry days in the spring and wetter ‘summers’. Until 2010 I would have said we are also having milder winters, but hmmmm, I think that argument needs to be reviewed…

  6. Jan Marriott says:

    very nice new circle…its cooling me down a bit. 35 degrees today here in Toronto with a humidX of well in the 40s….getting hotter as well…..

  7. Rachel says:

    Delightful – and so satisfying to have used up all those fragments!

  8. Deborah says:

    lovely. they do look like raindrops.

  9. love this circle. you are also correct..Summer same as Winter except no snow!!!x lynda

  10. Carrie says:

    There’s something very satisfying about the circle shape, and this little green one reminds me of a patchwork of fields. Lovely way to use up scraps, I hate to throw even tiny pieces of material away.

  11. flaming nora says:

    Have to agree it looks just like a snippet of the countryside snapped from the air, or even an alien planet with no water on it, just some ice crystal mountains.

  12. Eve says:

    Lovely – the rain on a window rings a bell here too.
    I have just received your stickers – thank you so much, they are beautiful; I love small detailed things, there is a very satisfying quality to them. The colours are beautiful. I am very pleased to have these.

  13. aracne says:

    You keep surprising me, every circle is a small entity on its own with its story and technique. Are you going to collect all of them in a book? A book of circular inspiration…

Comments are closed.