Quilching

… or using couching as a method of quilting. Unusually for me, this quilt has batting – it’s actually thermal curtain lining, which is a bit like thick felt. Cheaper, and easier for me to get locally. I decided to use batting to help support and distribute the unevenness of the weight. The centres of the circles are much heavier than the backing squares, and securing the layers to batting will help prevent sagging as it hangs.

I’m using the same yarn on this quilt as on my others in this series. It’s a bourette silk/viscose/wool mix, which means that it takes dye quite well. I found a length that I dyed last year, and it turned out to be not only exactly the right colour, but I have exactly the right amount too.

So then it was just a matter of couching the yarn between all the joins, ensuring that the couching stitch went through all the layers. I thought briefly about adding sashing to the quilt top, but to separate the squares with anything more than a fine line would have been quite wrong.

The border is a 3″ strip of striped brushed cotton, very soft – and again, I had exactly the right amount.

So far, so good.

This entry was posted in In progress, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Quilching

  1. MoF says:

    This quilt has grown more amazing the more it has grown. I never realised that recycling could be so beautiful as well as practical.

  2. Jill says:

    Excellent – and what a good idea thermal lining is as a batting.

  3. Rachel says:

    Hmm. The thermal lining I can find is fused to a tightly woven cotton twill. It would certainly support the work, but I hope you can use a thimble! I can’t, and my finger ends would be shredded!

    • Karen Turner says:

      This stuff isn’t fused to anything, though I know the stuff you mean. This really is like felt, only not so dense. No thimble necessary!

  4. Lenka Ε trosovΓ‘ says:

    So far, so good πŸ™‚
    This is so meditative work, I do like it.

    Today I got your stitchers, they are small, but nice. Thank you, Karen.

  5. Janice says:

    The end is nigh, Karen, and I’m looking forward to seeing this in all its glory. It’s always a treat when you find you have exactly the right amount of something for use in a project. Your ‘quilching’ is very neatly executed. I’m wondering what you’re thinking of for your next big project…. πŸ™‚

  6. jackywllms says:

    I’m enjoying your ‘circle journey’. It’s amazing where we find inspiration….flickr stickers!

    I like that word ‘quilching’

    Jacky xox

  7. Penny B says:

    Coming together beautifully. The various textures of the background squares alone will be a feast for the eyes. Including the antique watch face was a stroke of brilliance!

  8. Fiona says:

    more and more beautiful.. the hand-dyed yarn really defines the different parts as well as harmonising them all together.

Comments are closed.