white space

A psychologist would probably say that a grid suggests a desire for order, for some sort of control over the randomness of life. One of the notable features of life is that anything can happen at any time, and some of those events can really knock you sideways. Time is a kind of grid, where we order our life and make sense of things. Each square a little bite-sized piece of news to digest.

So patchwork is a kind of grid, too. An attempt to put things together in some sort of order.  Today we’re trying to make sense of some bad news that leaves my husband’s family reeling. Time will help us to do that.

The cloth is still listening. I wonder how it knew.

This entry was posted in In progress, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to white space

  1. Caroline says:

    I believe the very tiniest particle holds memory. I just believe this and perhaps the drawing of thread draws us closer to remembering.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Caroline, I believe this too. One day I believe science will be able to prove it. Until then, it’s a matter of faith. Thank you for these words.

  2. Eva says:

    We live in a grid, we just don’t think of it all the time. There is a system of invisible lines of longitudes and latitudes influencing us, I heard, the Hartmann-lines.

  3. judy martin says:

    Karen, it is synchronicity that our posts this morning mesh so well.
    The grid is one of my best friends.
    I lean on it.

  4. Penny B says:

    Yes, every molecule surely has memory. Funny, the grid for me in my work at least is restrictive…something I try and break free of. Take care of the family.

  5. Rachel says:

    Perhaps in this context the grid represents taking each day as it comes, without worrying about how you’ll cope tomorrow or the next. An important lesson in anxious times.

  6. serenapotter says:

    love to you karen and your in law family.
    when i recently took apart that old tied quilt i found bits of her hair and strings from other fabrics
    how can it not hold time, and us.
    whoever made it
    well i am holding that woman’s dna.

  7. Lynda says:

    Karen..l am thinking of you and your whole family. I am sorry you are all in such pain and if there is ANYTHING l can do..l am here for you. Your work was always inspired me and this last image is no exception. I fit grids all the time but love looking at them. xxlynda

  8. Lynda says:

    l meant to say” fight” grids..sorry! too tired……

  9. Bea says:

    Holding you and your family in prayer. x

  10. tina says:

    I too think fabric, quilts especially, hold time and absorb the the life lived around them best wishes tina

Comments are closed.