Spare moments

I’ve been tidying the workroom following the completion of ‘Moments of Peace’ and ‘Communion’ and gathered together a little crowd of strays.

So I think I’ll take a break from the series to make a couple of smaller cloths that can provide a home for all these spare parts.

This is a 6″ square patchwork block made from bits of silk (left over from the circles), hand pieced over paper. It’s sitting on a background of layered silks, still very much in progress. I’m thinking ‘moments to spare’.

A second patchwork block, covered with hand-dyed silk chiffon. It’s always with some trepidation that I embark on something like this – something spontaneous, unplanned. As Dr Frankenstein found, just because the parts are all beautiful, the whole will not necessarily be so. It’s an exercise in trust, as much as anything.

Most things turn out to be OK in the end, I know. I’m also taking a little leftover time for myself, and will be back next week.

This entry was posted in In progress, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Spare moments

  1. Penny B says:

    Those spare parts will be very happy in their new home. Relaxing break to you.

  2. Bea says:

    Love your “spare moments”! Time for yourself sounds good – see you next week. x

  3. Connie Rose says:

    Yes, take yourself some of those spare moments!

  4. Jan Marriott says:

    well…I have enjoyed your journey with circles, lets see where this leads, have a lovely weekend…

  5. Janice says:

    I love the silk. I suppose it’s the paper that gives it a sort of rigidity that seems to suit the fabric.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Yes – the papers are still in the green patchwork square, but after a quick press it will hold its shape when I take the papers out later.

  6. Lynda says:

    go and have some rest and “me” time…you deserve it. Love what l am seeing here.lyndaxxx

  7. Sally jo says:

    Fun stitches and the second image is so dream like. Enjoy your time off – have a little relaxing time.

  8. karen says:

    enjoy your left over time….

  9. serenapotter says:

    have a good break and rest up.

  10. Rachel says:

    It’s always gratifying to make something lovely out of scraps, and silk is such a rewarding fabric!

Comments are closed.