Walking backwards

Time really is circular, I think. I think of life as a spiral, where we are born on the outer edge and we walk round and round through the years in ever-decreasing circles that get nearer to the centre, where one day we will die. I think this is why time seems to speed up as we get older. It’s because the circles are getting smaller every year.

This little cloth is one I started some time ago – maybe last year. It was time to finish it.

This little cloth has been added to THE SHOP. I also added a couple of fragments of stitching. I’m having a serious review of life, the universe and everything – thinking about where I want to go next and how to make it happen. Thinking about what I want to take with me and what I want to leave behind. Moving on, travelling as light as I can, heading towards a slightly smaller circle.

This entry was posted in quilts, Reflections, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Walking backwards

  1. Gina says:

    Beautiful thought provoking post Karen… as is the piece of work too.

  2. Viv says:

    Oh wow, that is such an amazing way of looking at time and so true! Beautiful little cloth too.

  3. Rachel says:

    Now I’m intrigued to see where you will go next!

  4. MoF says:

    Love the stiching. I see my life as going the other way around. From the centre to the outside and it is me slowing down rather than time speeding up. Just my age. Keep up the inspirational stitching. It brightens my day.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Mo. I know a few people who see the spiral the other way round. I kind of like the idea that slowing down accounts for the speeding-up feeling.

  5. Ger says:

    So the shop is re-opened – that´s good… Yes, well, that dream of travelling light, reaching the small circles, or whatever, with just a suitcase of essentials left – sometimes I´m fond of it, sometimes – thinking about old-age-poverty threatening so many nowadays (including me) – not…

    • Karen Turner says:

      For one month only. Bonanza August – doesn’t quite have much of a ring to it, but there it is. I need some space for new work. You can’t take it with you, as they say…

  6. Penny says:

    I feel more like my life started at the inside of the spiral, a very narrow small universe and as my life went on the spiral opened up growing ever larger. Each year the spiral grows and hopefully I can keep up with all that is new and opening up for me.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Yes, I can see how that would work, Penny. But I guess I like the idea of dying in the centre rather than on the edge; the sense of turning inwards at the end. Probably it’s an extravert/introvert thing. Extraverts tend to be more expansive and outward-looking.

  7. Lynda says:

    Interesting entry…love the work.

  8. jude says:

    a serious review is always good.

  9. serenapotter says:

    good deal karen…i’ve been reviewing as of late as well….

Comments are closed.