Pages part 2

The second half of the Winter Queen sketchbook; pages are 8″ square, continued from yesterday. The last page from yesterday, with the silk and knitted wire, flips up to reveal this page with its couching samples:

page 6a

page 7

This page (below) is made from woven paper strips (actually the offcuts from trimming the pages to the right size, so there was no waste) with paper ‘reverse applique’ diamonds underneath.

page 8

page 9

More paper weaving, together with some yarn weaving. I imagine the yarn weaving could be quite effective in a textile piece.

page 10

page 11

page 12

And that’s the end. Really, I will do something with this at some point. But for now it’s back to the finishing. There are still a couple of pieces left in the shop, though I hope to be adding a few more later in the month as old work is finished.

This entry was posted in samples, textile art, work on paper and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Pages part 2

  1. karen says:

    these pages are glorious….and a little oasis of calm in this nightmare that’s going on at the moment.

  2. Penny B says:

    Summer is so fleeting where I live…Winter will be upon me before I know it. So perhaps I would do it the other way round…a summer in January. Actually I’d like to fly south for January!
    But Karen your wintry book is a treasure and sure to be a wonderful reference for ages to come.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Penny. Our winter is cold and wet, and our summer is also cold and wet – so it can be hard to tell the difference sometimes!

  3. Jan Marriott says:

    page 6a is my favorite…very interesting

  4. Suzanna says:

    Thanks Karen, for posting the pages…it’s inspiring to see what you’ve done with this…

  5. Connie Rose says:

    All beautiful, and I especially like the woven paper page!

  6. Lenka Štrosová says:

    Pages 8 and 10 are my favorites. Woven paper with yarn has pleasant texture.

  7. maggi21 says:

    All the pages are lovely but I really like the woven paper and yarn page.

  8. emmaolju says:

    que c est beau j adore ma belle bisoussssssssssssssssssss

  9. Lynda says:

    helped me to become calm by looking at this gorgeous book my friend.xxthank youxxlynda

  10. Sally jo says:

    A beautiful work of art and lovingly made. Thank you for sharing your treasure. How did you acquire your 18th century fabric? Really amazing.

  11. Rachel says:

    You do have a fascinating range of textures and ideas there – well done!

Comments are closed.