More night

We’re starting to draw the curtains a little earlier each evening now that autumn is under way. I love the way the light changes with each new season, and the way each season ‘smells’ different. The quality of light changes, as if each season wears a different coloured coat.

The night half of this cloth is growing faster than the day half – which is as it should be, as the days grow gradually and slightly shorter.

This entry was posted in In progress, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to More night

  1. Claire says:

    It’s a subtle shift into autumn. Your colours match the change in season very beautifully.

  2. Penny B says:

    Can’t believe we’re already thinking autumn…where did the summer go…time flies by faster every day it seems. Despite my feeling of rushing through time, this piece really makes me feel calm and peaceful. Gorgeous Karen.
    By the way, I’m so glad you mentioned that Crow lives among painted cave drawings….that’s exactly what I was aiming for! Thanks Karen.

    • Karen Turner says:

      It’s funny, I changed its name today. I was calling it ‘night and day’ and today it became ‘a pocketful of time’. It grew up to be a cloth about catching time, parcelling it up into little chunks and keeping it. Anyway, more on this tomorrow, probably. Glad I spotted the cave art 🙂

  3. Connie Rose says:

    It’s beautiful and evocative, Karen. Like a misty twilight. Enjoy early Autumn — it’s my favorite season!

  4. els says:

    I know: ever so slowly the summer is tiptoeing to it’s end. It’s okay, another season is waiting.
    Love your stitching!

  5. annie! says:

    I can “feel” the changing of the season in your ethereal piece.

  6. Rachel says:

    Lovely – very atmospheric!

Comments are closed.