The last

This one seems to have taken forever, but the last in the ‘search for peace’ series is finally finished. It started life as a 26″ square of hand-pieced patchwork in 1″ and 2″ squares, to which I added freely-pieced borders in various hand-dyed greens.

Fields, seen from above. Fields can be many things: in the case of a battlefield, a place to fight; in the case of a farm, a place to grow. Sometimes the same field can be both.       These became Flanders fields, with battle scars and craters:

But when peace descends, flowers grow.

I’m calling this one ‘Armistice’.

'Armistice', 40" x 40"

This entry was posted in quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to The last

  1. Jeannie says:

    Beautiful! The flowers remind me of the poppies in Flander’s field poem. A really gorgeous piece of art.

  2. Lenka Štrosová says:

    So emotional and beautiful …
    The Fields Arable and War, it is name of the book form Czech novelist Vladislav Vančura.

  3. Barbara says:

    absolutely stunning – the poppies appear to be floating. Truly a beautiful creation of art

  4. Oh that has really caught me in my throat. Emotional I suppose. I hope you found peace in making this

  5. Tina says:

    Stunning-I really love this series-one mor beautiful than the next-I can only imagine what they look like hanging together!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Until someone takes a chance and gives me an exhibition space, we’ll never know! Two of these quilts will be going to the Scottish National Quilt Championships next month – more on that later.

  6. Suzanna says:

    So lovely, Karen. It glows with a calm…

  7. Jennie says:

    This is outstanding Karen and love the meaning behind your art x

  8. Connie Rose says:

    Just beautiful, Karen!

  9. so quiet, calm, deeply thoughtful. I like that you didn’t over-do the poppies. it truly is a gift to know when to stop.

  10. Rachel says:

    Poppies grow in disturbed ground – which is why they became the symbol we all remember from Flanders fields – but, as you’ve hinted with the design – they grow when the disturbance ceases.

    Peace doesn’t descend overnight, it needs to be worked for. Which is what you’ve been doing, so I hope you have had your reward!

    • Karen Turner says:

      That’s really interesting, I didn’t know that. I don’t know whether I feel any more peaceful as a result of ‘the end’ – we have quite a lot of family stress going on at the moment – but I admit I’m kind of glad it’s finished. Onwards and upwards 🙂

  11. Els says:

    Love this Karen!
    But also you “Shadow pass” is só beautiful!!!!!

  12. tina says:

    there is always tranquility and peace in your work, dont know how you do that, but carry on!

  13. Bea says:

    Stunning! I’ve loved following the process of this series. Thank you for sharing it.

  14. Tina says:

    I don’t know if I have asked you this before-but do you dye all of your fabrics yourself?

    • Karen Turner says:

      Mostly, yes, I dye my own fabrics, with procion, trial and error. Some of the green silk in the border was dyed by upcycledarts on etsy.

  15. annie! says:

    I really love this peace.

  16. grace Forrest~Maestas says:

    ok..i am trying again. for some reason am having difficulty leaving comments????
    but…this is a perfect image of Peace ….the poppys. oh, the poppys…………

  17. helen salo says:

    Karen, Incredible , as always! Really LOVE this peace series. Like one smallstitch said, “Just right”. I sound repetative, but sometimes your work just HAS to be commended, again.

  18. Karen Turner says:

    Thank you all for coming to see this and for your kind words. Making a series of larger works completely by hand has been quite a challenge. I’m looking forward to starting something a little more manageable!

  19. judy martin says:

    Very lovely, Karen.

    Yes, large pieces by hand are a lot, but the size itself gives power. I hope that you just take a break…and return to large scale works again.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Judy. The larger scale was very satisfying, and I do like the visual impact of a larger piece. I’ll definitely make more, after a brief time making something smaller.

  20. Penny B says:

    Karen, this is a very moving piece, it really touches a nerve for me. Such a worthy memory of Flanders Fields.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Penny. It seemed like a good end piece for the series, as well as a tribute to all our grandfathers and great-grandfathers who fought for our peace and freedom.

  21. karen says:

    Karen this is so very beautiful…really special.

  22. Janice says:

    Beautiful, and perfectly titled, Karen. I’ve often thought how like patchwork fields look.

Comments are closed.