This is red

Do not adjust your set! Not my usual colour, I know.

Very red, isn’t it?

Still in the spirit of finishing the unfinished, I needed something to sit with this piece of window patchwork, made from leftover fabrics after making the large cloth ‘Midnight’:

Like so many other things, alone they look pretty unspectacular. But together…

… slightly better. I’m a little late posting these pictures, which were taken last week or the week before. It’s almost finished now; more of this tomorrow.

This entry was posted in In progress, patchwork, samples, textile art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to This is red

  1. Jeannie says:

    This piece is wonderful!!! I love the red behind the geometric maze.

  2. Abigail says:

    oh I LOVE the red and under that window piece; just great…

  3. Gina says:

    I think this looks fabulous. The red really makes it sing.

  4. Jill says:

    definitely drawn to this fabulous piece – the red shining through the windows, wonderful – reminds me of those fantastic night skies we occasionally glimpse through the city lights.

  5. Rachel says:

    As always, it is the trick of the right combination that brings both pieces to life. A “marriage of true minds”, in the best sense of the phrase!

  6. lacativad says:

    It’s terrific…I have trouble with “red” but you solved it by working warm & cool reds into the same piece.And that little peek of metallic gold, fabulous!

    • Karen Turner says:

      metallic gold courtesy of Arlee – that little piece of hand-painted fabric was a gift last year. This was the home it was looking for.

  7. Dan says:

    love it.like peering through the furnace grate.

  8. Penny B says:

    Dan said it for me…it’s like looking through the glass door of my wood stove at the first fire of next winter!

  9. annie! says:

    The combination is awesome!

  10. Jane says:

    I LOVE this! A wonderful idea… and absolutely beautiful!!!!

  11. serenapotter says:

    beautiful!

  12. I love this piece…it really is beautiful Karen. You calmed the red down and brightened up the blue..together= magice. xxlynda

  13. Jude Whaites says:

    This is beautiful Karen, what a lovely colour combination.

  14. Flaming Nora says:

    Love the red, even and may be particularly on its own. Very organic. I could easily loose my self in it.

  15. Victoria says:

    Wow! How cool is that!?! Great combination of fabrics and colors!!

  16. Tina says:

    This piece is beautiful-I have learned something new again! Love this!

  17. Claire says:

    The reds are wonderful. Great to see the process.

Comments are closed.