More harvest moons

A couple more completed cloths and a shop update today.

The first is already reserved and sold (thank you), but the second is looking for a new home.

Thank you to those of you who very helpfully shared your thoughts on the etsy/big cartel debate yesterday. I’m still thinking. Whatever the sales outlet turns out to be, I do need to find a way of making the shop more visible, and I’d also like to find a way to bring more people here to the blog.  My weekend will be one of clanking cogs turning very slowly.  Like most artists, my strengths are not in self-promotion or marketing.

This entry was posted in art, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to More harvest moons

  1. Rachel says:

    They are charming pieces – well done. I’m sure the second will soon find a home!

  2. Penny B says:

    Yes, marketing, self promotion and any of the business side doesn’t come naturally to most of us! But your beautiful work and the spirit in which it is made draws people in.

  3. annie! says:

    Both pieces are great! Traci Bautista has – from what I hear – a great marketing course which you can take online. Just sayin.

  4. tina says:

    I spotted your facebook wall of piccies yesterday within 3 hours of posting, it caught my attention and I told 3 friends, that I was talking to on line straightaway so that obviously caught attention .
    I think your getting well known, everyone seems to talk about your work, at the groups I attend, and everyones familiar with whatever your currently doing, how about putting on a few tutorials? like the feather- that was nice….

    • Karen Turner says:

      Tina, I had no idea that anyone was talking about my work, so thank you for that. I think feathers are probably Jude’s area right now, but I take the point and will give that some thought.

  5. tina says:

    I really think you need to promote yourself,get in touch with all the magasines, not just the english ones , you have a recognizeable style and an originality, I know its hard for artists to promote themselves, you always seem to be quiete people, but have you thought about tutoring as well? maybe an e book?

  6. Karen Turner says:

    Just wanted to say thank you for all the good ideas that are gathering here. I’m aware that I must look totally clueless and unprofessional; I guess this just isn’t my best area, and I’m grateful for suggestions and some kind of direction.

  7. Or perhaps an on line class as Jude and Karen Ruane have both done recently? I think a lot of it is word of mouth and web presence. But I agree, self-promotion isn’t easy for everyone. I love the indigo moon, by the way. :o)

    • Karen Turner says:

      procion moon, actually! I think I’d rather do real life classes, if I was going to go down that route. The online class market is probably quite full at the moment, and I think a lot of the basic techniques have already been covered by others. However, in the spirit of never say never, you never know. Thanks for the idea : -)

  8. helen salo says:

    Oh man. I had the best comment for here and it erased because I mistyped my e-mail..wha…
    To “Cliff note” it, don’t be bogged down by marketing classes and the on line class thing is pretty saturated. My advise to you is to think of yourself, the consumer, what you like, what audience you want to reach, what would you read, etc. and use those as jumping off points. What would make you buy something, look at something, go back to the site it’s on, etc. too bad the other one disappeared it was worded better. ha! and No you do not look unprofessional everyone has a hard time with promotion, the creating is easy, it’s the selling….

    • Karen Turner says:

      It’s funny, that’s exactly what I’ve been doing today, Helen – and I think I might be getting somewhere. Shame you had to write all that again, but you said it perfectly the second time as well 🙂

  9. karen says:

    beautiful work Karen, you deserve the highest exposure. Good luck with the big push…

  10. serenapotter says:

    I really think it’s about not just knowing yourself but knowing where you want to be….and knowing your limitations. For hand quilters it’s hard to keep up the inventory to go to big shops and market oneself while staying true to who you are as a stitcher, also it helps to know what direction you’re taking it. Are you super committed to the title of Art Quilter or would you like to use art quilting to do something more.

    I personally think aiming for books on technique alone are just sort of silly. The area is absolutely flooded and sadly really forgettable. I struggle to remember titles and authors and after a few really fabulous books there’s not a good reason to keep buying. Not saying it can’t be done, but it is hard and it doesn’t seem off of what I’ve read this area makes very much money. (Which was sort of our initial topic)

    I truly believe there is a whole wide world of possibilities out there for you and it’s only a question of who you want to be and where you want to go.

    • Karen Turner says:

      I know you’re right, Serena. I totally agree on the books thing: there are few really good books out there, and it’s a niche market anyway, so not a huge earner. I guess I’m still not entirely sure about who or what I am yet, if I’m totally honest. There are lots of things I could be, and there are still lots of things I want to try, and I believe there are many more possibilities than have yet occurred to me. I think I’m on the right road, though without a map or compass, so maybe I’ll just keep going and see what I meet along the way.

      • serenapotter says:

        i like this new loosening up….

        fighting creative blocks on a budget. finding yourself through your creative process….people are often more interested in an author who doesn’t quite know it all.

        we’re all works in progress.

        i meant more so to take what you make and market it in a different manner….have you thought about trying to use your stitching and painting to illustrate notebooks, notecards, books and wrapping paper…..do you have an odd hobby you enjoy that you could do side illustration of?

        we’ve a family friend who is an actual full time working artist….her husband a stay home dad….she designs jewelry and after years of being unsuccessful at art markets and local stores she just for a lark went to a dog show.
        she said she was amazed at the money the vendors were making for illustrations of differing dog breeds….so she went home and started making dog themed jewelry…and she travels with the dog show while her husband stays home with their daughter…but she is fully supporting their family.

        i just always think there is a way to think creatively and keep your mind open to what a successful artist looks like. again just thoughts and ideas to help cheer you on!

        • Karen Turner says:

          Well, I’m certainly someone who doesn’t know everything! I feel as if I haven’t a clue most days. Yes, actually, I’ve thought about wrapping paper and cards etc in the past but haven’t got round to finding out how you go about that. I’ve often thought that hand stitched cloth would make great wrapping paper… I guess it’s a matter of writing down all the things I need to find out and then just getting on with researching it. I’ve written a little children’s book about atoms and I don’t know what to do with that either. Great story about the dog-themed jewellery; that’s the kind of success story I like. But you’re right, there’s usually a way to make most things happen, it’s just a matter of being a bit more imaginative about how you do it. And making time to find out.

  11. Janice says:

    I love all your harvest moons! Actually, since my birthday is in September I identify with that moon. I particularly like the first one with the little house. 🙂

  12. wow…all this advice……being an artist is so hard sometimes especially about advertising our self! Love your work Karenxx we artists must stick together and help each otherxxxx lyndax

    • Karen Turner says:

      I know, everyone’s been so helpful and supportive. I really appreciate it. You’re right; shame we don’t all live closer together.

  13. twhich aye says:

    karen i have been thinking of the same things regarding sales. for quite awhile. it is even just a hurdle to begin selling much less PROMOTE-ing… aAahHh scary word 🙂
    (how long have i had a shop with NO-THING in it???)
    i like the comment that said ‘artists are quiet people’… it’s nice to know i’m not alone in this.
    i think etsy used to be for the artist, then i notice several years back folks selling and producing more than what is humanly possible for ONE person and found out many people there employ others and it became a sort of hip marketing technique for ‘companies’, not artists.
    also lot of conversations and ‘fights’ and craziness going on… too much for me to understand or grasp.
    i guess you don’t have to participate in all of that, but those with an understanding of how to play the game (and willing/love to play the game) there seem to come out on top. maybe a little click-ee?
    just my observations.

    • Karen Turner says:

      I think you’re right, in that etsy used to be an artists’ platform, and now it hosts a whole lot of other business. I always found the groups and forums to be quite cliquey and exclusive so never really got into any of that. I’m not a game-player, in any case, nor do I like jumping through hoops just to prove something to somebody else. It’s become clear that I have quite a lot more thinking to do before I plan any kind of action, but at least now I have a better idea about what it is I need to consider. I too have an etsy shop with nothing in it 😉 Quiet people are my favourite kind. Thanks for sharing your thoughts; they are helpful.

  14. patchyo says:

    What an interesting discussion is going on here. I have it in mind as well. No idea of what to think, so, by now, I will go on working slowly…

Comments are closed.