Stitching paper

Of course, it was obvious, really. I’m making a cloth book for these little cards, with pages about 7″ x 10″. I’m layering fabrics over a felt base, then stitching the felt-backed pages to a single leaf torn from blue hand-dyed cotton.

As you can see, I’ve stitched through the card to attach it to the page. This is much easier if you prick the holes first with a pin. I’m keeping the stitching very simple so that the cloth background doesn’t compete too much with the focal image.

The cool colour palette – blues, greens, purples – is the typical choice of an introvert. Extraverts tend to be drawn naturally towards warmer colours. A generalisation, but broadly true. I usually have to work hard to stay with reds, and very hot colours can make me feel decidely jittery after a while. We all have our natural place in the palette, and our natural sense of harmony with colour.

The bee is a little card-making charm, coloured with inks and glued to a cardboard Scrabble tile, also coloured with inks and coated with sparkly nail varnish. I can’t remember how long ago I originally made these; it must be 4-5 years ago, I guess.

Funny how things step across the bridge from the past to be back in the present. More pages tomorrow.

This entry was posted in art, Cloth books, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Stitching paper

  1. suzy says:

    These pages are just divine so simply assembled yet so beautifully arranged and stitched!

  2. Chris Gray says:

    That’s delightful!

    …love the little bee charm especially 🙂

  3. Bea says:

    These are just beautiful! Very much my colours too.

  4. Connie Rose says:

    The cloth pages with cards attached are really lovely! Like early spring.

  5. Rachel says:

    I guess my affection for orange and green just shows that I’m officially a Crazy Mixed Up Kid, then!

    I’m always fascinated by this sort of mixed-media work. It feels so profoundly unnatural to me that I can’t even begin to think of how to do it, so I’m always wildly impressed by people who can.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Mid-spectrum colours, yes… Of course, I was generalising wildly. There are cool reds and warm blues. But always strange to think that any colour is just white light in waves.

  6. annie! says:

    love them so much

  7. JUST GORGEOUSxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  8. just love this. funny, but in the past couple years – since I retired – my colour preferences have changed dramatically. can’t tell you why!

  9. helen salo says:

    These are wonderful!

  10. Sally jo says:

    Whatever the color palette means, I love these and they are very nicely done. Beautiful!

Comments are closed.