a thousand twangling instruments

Page 3 of the Magic Isle cloth book; page size is about 7″ x 11″. The music print is one of my favourite fabrics, though I always only had a tiny piece of it. It came in a mixed bag of quilting cotton scraps from one of the quilting supply shops online, several years ago.

I expect you could quite easily make your own by scanning some sheet music and printing onto cotton. In this piece I’ve covered it with some very sheer dark blue chiffon just to knock back the whiteness a little.

And the green silk on this page (above) – likewise, a tiny scrap, but perfect grass-green in real life, not the blueish tint you see here. Cloth holds and reflects light in a way that paint doesn’t, and it’s almost impossible to get the effect in a photograph.

The last two pages tomorrow – plus a small announcement about the weekend.

This entry was posted in art, Cloth books, In progress, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to a thousand twangling instruments

  1. Amanda says:

    They’re all looking fabulous and I’m still gobsmacked at the speed you work. lol

    • Karen Turner says:

      Mostly these are from last week, Amanda. I work on many things at a time, and there isn’t room for everything here as it happens. Really, I don’t work particularly quickly. I just work a lot.

      • Sharon says:

        I love your blog, I am a new follower. I omehow ended up here whilst tryingto find out more about the shop in St Leonards On Sea called ‘Wayward’. I live here you see and walked past it on Tuesday morning and it was shut! Now I know why, it only opens on Saturdays. I really love your sewing perojects, particularly the poppy landscape one. That has really inspired my imagination. I sew all the time but on a machine, my days of lots of hand sewing are long gone.

        • Karen Turner says:

          I don’t quite know how you ended up here while searching for ‘Wayward’, Sharon, but I’m very glad you did 🙂 Welcome, and thank you for being here. I like your patchwork projects very much; the machine can be a very useful tool. I wish I enjoyed using it more, sometimes!

  2. chloe says:

    So beautiful – I love the softness and harmony of the colours: I can’t seem to do delicate very well! Inspiring also to see your ‘old’ work being resuscitated in such a fantastic way. Lovely 🙂

  3. Jan Marriott says:

    Isn’t it nice when an old piece of fabric in your stash is just right…reaffirms that you made the right decision in the first place.

    • Karen Turner says:

      It always delights me when that happens, Jan. The blue cloth I used for the page backings was EXACTLY the right size for three pages. I love having no waste.

  4. Rachel says:

    Delightful. The layered fabrics work really well!

  5. tina says:

    oh I love it, brilliant..

  6. nadia says:

    Stopped by from “Spirit cloth” to enjoy your blog. Just love your textile artwork and experiments. Very elegant and sophisticated.
    best from Tunisia

Comments are closed.