To dream again

These are the last two pages of this little mixed media book. Again, very simple layering and stitching, trying to make it look as if the card and fabric belong together.

For the last page, I wanted something a little more intense, something that suggests the emotionally concentrated quality of dreams. The dark pink and blue ‘hills’ come from an over-dyed silk blouse.

And I guess this too is about peace: these words create an image of an island so beautiful that even dreams are filled with riches.

I still need to make a cover for this, which I may start over the next couple of days.

And if you are anywhere near Edinburgh this weekend, you might enjoy a trip to the Scottish Quilt Championships, where you will (I hope!) see my quilts ‘Midnight’ and ‘Perspective’.

This entry was posted in art, Cloth books, In progress, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to To dream again

  1. Rachel says:

    A variety of textures and colours – riches indeed.

  2. karen says:

    wonderful news about your quilts!! Yay!!! hope you get lots of amazing feedback and that they sell…(are they for sale?)

  3. MoF says:

    I love the batik fabric at the bottom of the picture. So good to see recycling in action.

  4. beautiful way to use your cards. the sum of the parts is so much more…. truly inspired.

  5. blandina says:

    I love them all, I found myself smiling with delight looking at what you did with your cards.

  6. grace Forrest~Maestas says:

    your gift for creating landscape that IS landscape is just so so fine.
    i just sit and stare

Comments are closed.