The Magic Isle

The Magic Isle mixed media book is now finished. The cover is made from collaged and stitched fabric scraps, with another version of the text attached under sheer chiffon. I like book covers to wrap around so that the pages have a little more protection.

I sandwiched a piece of mountboard in between the outer cover and the lining so that the back of the book is a little more sturdy. Cloth books can be a little floppy, and difficult to read on the lap without this extra support.

The three pages are stitched through the card backing with cotton perle thread.

Again, a little scrap of paper on the spine, trapped under chiffon with a few beads.

The ties that wrap around the book are hand-dyed silk noil yarn. I added a clay bead and some twangling bells – ‘sounds and sweet airs that give delight’ – along with some tiny seed beads along the outer edge of the wrapover.

There is, of course, no such place as the magic isle. In the world of real life, where there is delight and sweetness there must also be death and sorrow, and this is the only way there can be balance. I always think this is more apparent in the spring and autumn, around the equinoxes, where light and darkness are equal. My dear mother-in-law has been very ill during the last few months. She passed away yesterday morning. As a wise friend said to me recently, these things change everything.

This entry was posted in art, Cloth books, textile art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Magic Isle

  1. This book is so beautiful! I really like the wrapping, the colours and texture!
    Sorry to hear about your mother-in-law

  2. Amanda says:

    A beautiful book and your friend is right, nothing ever stays the same, things just change at different rates. Sorry for your loss.

  3. Lilli says:

    Loss is so intense. I’m so sorry for your loss and hope you have a lot of support at this time.

  4. Els says:

    Wonderful to wrap your book like this.
    Sorry about you mother-in-law. After a long serious illness it might have been a relief for her, but you don’t want to miss a dear one. But balance it is: that’s life…
    Take care.

  5. blandina says:

    This book is so beautiful, so inspiring. Like all your work it gives me peace just looking at it.
    I am always moved when I read of a relationship mother/daughter-in law based on love.
    And maybe the Magic Island is where your mother-in law is now….

  6. Sue says:

    So sorry to hear about your mother in law, my thoughts are with you
    and such a beautiful book
    Sue Xxx

  7. Suzanna says:

    Sending love your way…so sorry to hear about your mother-in-law, and hope balance will come soon…

  8. karen says:

    I am so very sorry……

  9. Rachel says:

    My sympathy for you and your family. But take comfort in the thought that those we love never really die to us while there are stories to tell of times we spent together, things they have made, people they have known. Remember her with love, talk about her, reminisce – all these things can bring comfort.

  10. serenapotter says:

    I am so very sorry for your family’s loss. May peace come easily for all those left behind.
    Your cloth book is very beautiful. I always think of your work as dainty but intense….you capture life well, even the dreamscape.

    love to you!

  11. annie! says:

    My deepest thoughts of peace for you and your family.

  12. Connie Rose says:

    This book is so precious. Sorry about your MIL. Love and peace to you and your family.

  13. A beautiful book. I am so sorry for your loss.

  14. Sweetpea says:

    K, yes, when those we love leave us, it does change everything…a perfect description. I am thinking perhaps your Magic Isle is very much like my Sweetpea Path…they are what we make of them. I truly love this book.

    My best to you & your family….

  15. Bea says:

    Love and prayers for you and your family. x

  16. helen salo says:

    Feeling for your recent change…changes are never easy. I don’t like to refer to passing as a loss, but a change and perhaps a growth for those left behind, and a moving on for those going. Take the time to absorb it all. My thoughts are with you. This cover really makes the piece I am totally in love with it!! perfect cover to for a wonderful piece.
    May peace and comfort be with you and your family,
    Helen

  17. grace Forrest~Maestas says:

    thinking of you, love, grace

Comments are closed.