A flower

Still working on the quilt, I applied this flower by couching a decorative yarn around the shape and then cutting the fabric close to the couched line. The centre is a commercial batik scrap gathered over an extra piece of batting and then stitched down on top of the flower.

The fabric for the flower is one of Arlee‘s hand-dyed cottons covered with a piece of very sheer silk gauze, which gives a more textured surface to the petals. It also tones down the colour and pattern of the hand-dyed cotton a little.

You can probably see the frayed edges beyond the couched line if you click to enlarge. The flower stem is a quarter-inch wide, standard needle-turned applique.

This entry was posted in art, In progress, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A flower

  1. chloe says:

    Very pretty! I just wanted to say how inspiring your work is, and that I’ve just been singing your praises on my newly-started blog, as without having seen your work I would never have started my own little embroidery project – another first for me – so I just wanted to say thank you 🙂

  2. MoF says:

    Lovely colour tones; rich but delicate at the same time.

  3. arlee says:

    a lovely subtlety to the shading with the sheer

  4. Loralei says:

    This is very lovely work indeed; how creative to use couching to create the shape of the petals!

  5. serenapotter says:

    your flower is so perfect. it looks drawn. you’ve really got your techniques down to an art in and of themselves.

  6. l agree with everything everyone has said..so not much to say but l love it.x lynda

  7. Cindy Lane says:

    Such a beautiful colour palette. And such precision and patience! I take my hat off to you!

    Cheers,

    Cindy

  8. Very nice! I do some of my rag appliques by cutting around the edges after they are stitched down. I like the idea of the overlay. I’m doing something similar of the rag quilt I am making. One of the pinks was too dark, so I’m using it with a piece of muslin over the top. Perfect! I should have a picture ready to post soon.

  9. jane says:

    I came back from holiday and discovered many changes in this virtual world. I am so sorry for your loss, but i feel this gorgeous flower shows a determination to remain positive – it is such a joyful little daisy. I am still hopeful that one day soon you will exhibit your work, and I will be able to nip across the wolds to see it in reality

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Jane – I hope so too, but it’s not as easy as it might seem. I’m finding that in order for galleries to be interested, you have to ‘be somebody’, and in order to be somebody you have to have had work exhibited… a bit of a vicious circle…

  10. Rachel says:

    Such a vibrant flower and background – lovely!

Comments are closed.