Some stars

There are seven stars on this quilt. No reason for choosing seven; it just seemed like the right kind of number.

Each star is cut from hand-dyed silk, and stitched to the quilt with needle-turned applique.

I like to see stars twinkle, hence the couched glittery viscose chainette yarn around the edges.

Points are always tricky, as you can probably see.

You can also see that I’ve started some of the quilting. More of that later.

This entry was posted in art, In progress, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Some stars

  1. karen says:

    hello to you too…I hope things are OK there. I am thinking of you.

  2. Jan Marriott says:

    No reason why stars should have very pointy edges…charming

  3. Connie Rose says:

    I love these stars! Incidentally, I’m doing a small piece by hand now with batting, and it’s going well despite my fingertips being slightly gnarly (thimbles have never worked for me)!

  4. Dan says:

    Cute stars. A design instructor once told me that at a count of around seven, you stop perceiving 3 objects or five objects, and start perceiving a group. You see stars, rather than 7 stars.

  5. Els says:

    Aaaah, Karen, the colours of this quilt are gorgeous!!! Those stars stand out beautifully against them.
    Love the twinkle couching …. 😉

  6. I love these stars…and there are all types of stars….some pointed and so rounded..all beautiful.xxLike the quilting. xlynda

  7. serenapotter says:

    X ~ I was here.

    love, support and encouragement!
    your stars are shining!

  8. There’s a guest house in Hay-on-Wye called The Seven Stars, where my husband and I spent a short, but very lovely holiday about fifteen years ago – it has an indoor swimming pool, very unexpected in an old house on the main street. I remember swimming in it, late at night – very special memories. I bet you didn’t think your stitching would be the means of setting off such a lot of happy memories – thank you!

  9. MoF says:

    There is something magical about 7 stars. I just wish that I could remember what it is! Thinking of you.X

  10. Rachel says:

    The viscose chainette is probably very slippery, which will also have made the points tricky. You’ve done a good job!

Comments are closed.