no dominion

The title of this quilt comes from a poem by Dylan Thomas, as does some of the imagery. Words in italics are from the poem ‘And death shall have no dominion’.

With the man in the wind and the west moon

They shall have stars at elbow…

… and foot

Though lovers be lost love shall not

Where blew a flower may a flower no more

lift its head to the blows of the rain

And Death Shall Have No Dominion, 34" x 47"

And death shall have no dominion.

A quilt made in memory of Joan, who gave me my husband.

This entry was posted in art, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to no dominion

  1. chloe says:

    Such a beautiful quilt, so warm and pretty, and yet so heartfelt it makes me want to blub (I’m pretty emotional these days what with pregnancy n all). Not only shall death have no dominion, it shall make the living shine more brightly.

  2. Jeannie says:

    Karen, the quilt and the poem are both beautiful. A wonderful tribute.

  3. jane says:

    It’s just beautiful x

  4. Eva says:

    Made me think how much I owe to my “Joan”

  5. Superb and very moving – thank you.

  6. Penny says:

    Such a beautiful poem – and a lovely, lovely quilt. This is truly art from the heart.

  7. Lesly says:

    Beautiful, evocative quilt and moving sentiment. Powerful enough to make me weepy – I lost my “Joan” this past spring.

  8. Loralei says:

    Oh my…. What a beautiful piece- tears welled up in my eyes… Your posts are the first thing I read each morning; thank you for such beauty. I just know that Joan is looking down and loving it..

  9. Penny B says:

    A beautifully haunting piece, Karen, and that column of speckled stardust falling on the flower is such a clever touch.

  10. Connie Rose says:

    Stunning quilt, stunning words.

  11. Suzanna says:

    Very beautiful…

  12. oh it is so beautiful…Your husband must be so proud of it and of you.x Can you tell me how you managed to do the writing stitch so beautifully?xxYou work is amazing and you seem to create so much., it is very inspiring.x

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Lynda. The writing is just couched. I wrote directly onto the quilt surface then couched a space-dyed cotton yarn over the pen line with a finer quilting thread.

  13. Bea says:

    Such a beautiful work and a touching tribute. x

  14. Els says:

    Beautiful stitched piece Karen

  15. Jill says:

    Just beautiful – I love Dylan Thomas and you have certainly done this poem justice – more than.

  16. serenapotter says:

    reading/seeing this just took my breath.

  17. So beautiful and emotional. Tank you, Karen !

  18. Sally jo says:

    Wonderful and truly heartfelt.

  19. Rachel says:

    A great tribute. Wonderful.

  20. Karen Turner says:

    Thank you all for such kind and lovely words. I’ll be away from the blog for a few days now and will be back next week.

  21. Just a beautiful and gorgeous piece. both the writing and the poem moved me – I would adore to have this quilt on my wall. The colours make my mouth water.

  22. Sweetpea says:

    No words really….just appreciating the efforts and sentiments in your handwork.

  23. This is just so lovely, I’m full of admiration

  24. Janice says:

    I loved the overall look / the colours of this piece when I first saw it a week or so ago. Now that I’ve seen all the details in the previous posts I like it even more!

  25. karen says:

    beautiful sentiments…..

Comments are closed.