Just looking

Getting back to work after a little hiatus – in this case, a road trip and a funeral – is always a bit of a challenge. Unusually for me, I don’t feel much of a desire to stitch or to make anything.

I do know that I’m really liking orange and purple at the moment.

And I quite like these little stitched pieces, made many years ago when I was still friends with the sewing machine:

I found them during the recent clear-out and put them to one side. And today I’m just looking.

This entry was posted in In progress, Reflections, textile art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Just looking

  1. l know how you feel karen. I have a funeral of a very young close friend on friday and just don’t seem to do much this week.
    love your found machine pieces…..waiting to see what you are going to do with them!xxx

  2. MoF says:

    I find that orange is such a happy colour and purple feels like a safe cocoon. Love the squares top right and bottom left; they remind me of a colourful tropical sunset.

  3. Jan Marriott says:

    I am sure you will eventually find inspiration from your sun/moon scapes. it does not matter when. It is often nice not to have anything ‘on the go’

  4. chloe says:

    Spirals are really interesting: amongst many other ancient meanings they can represent awareness of the one within the context of the whole, as well as letting go, surrender and release. It’s funny how colour combinations can sometimes grab hold of you – fairly recently I remember looking at a pile of washing up I’d just stacked and thinking, hmm I must DO something with those colours… I never did, and now can’t remember the exact shades sadly. Carpe colorem! (I made that up)

  5. Penny says:

    Perhaps you can incorporate these wonderfully colorful pieces into something larger. They are quite lovely, too lovely to stay hidden away.

  6. Loralei says:

    Rest is good – it recharges the soul, and brings new insights. Good for you, for being able to give that gift to yourself; my thoughts are with you..

  7. serenapotter says:

    are these hand dyeds? i love these colors. I’m working on something larger inspired by the colors of our drive to Virginia the other day.

    michael said what will be the backing of that? i said purple….:)

    i like what the machine stitch can add to the “line” of quilting.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Hand-dyed, yes. I like purple and brown too, maybe something to do with the season. Your Virginia quilt will be stunning if your photos were anything to go by.

  8. Janice says:

    Hi Karen,
    Just catching up on your last few blog posts. I’m so sorry for your / your husband’s loss. Taking the time you need just to think / feel / do little is a good thing. I hope you start to get your equilibrium back before long. (I love these little machined pieces, by the way.)
    Janice. x

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Janice. Yes, it’s been difficult the last few weeks. I feel as if there isn’t much left in the tank at present – and equilibrium is exactly the right word. It will come back.

  9. yvette says:

    I looked to and love it!

  10. karen says:

    ”just looking” is good. It’s what I am mostly doing at the moment. Hope all is as well as it can be after your sad news…..

  11. Rachel says:

    You will find the energy will come back again, but in the meantime, resting and “just looking” are both healing activities.

Comments are closed.