Mending

In-between times are often good for repairs, and the shoulder strap on my bag has been showing signs of wear for some time now.

So I did something I haven’t done for several years: I got the sewing machine out. I used it to make a new strap from hand-dyed cotton fabric.

By no means am I any kind of expert with sewing machines, and I had to get the instruction manual out to remind me what went where. I think it turned out OK. Functional, at least, if not particularly attractive or symmetrical. Symmetry can be a bit over-rated.

The strap holders were also badly frayed, but to replace those meant taking the whole bag apart from its lining, which would have involved more machining than I was prepared to do. So I covered the strap holders by hand, just taking some fabric and wrapping it round what was already there.

Mo will recognise the buttons, cut from some vintage clothing very kindly sent to me as a gift. I quite like the idea that the old, original strap holders are still there underneath, like a layer of archaeology.

And I’m also making a new bag – same design – for the winter, cut from scraps of felted wool:

This one is pieced by hand, and still needs a little more hand stitching. I’ve couched some wool yarn between the squares, left over from a jumper I knitted last winter.  This will keep me busy over the weekend.

This entry was posted in wearable art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mending

  1. MoF says:

    Love the way that you think outside of the box. Love the bag and the buttons with a new lease of life in the daylight for a change.

  2. Maggi says:

    It’s always good to see the life of a favourite extended. Excellent solution to the problem with the strap holders.

  3. Rachel says:

    It’s always satisfying to mend something, especially if you like it and use it a lot.

  4. Loralei says:

    Great solutions, and wonderful colours! I always admire those who have the patience for hand piecing; although I am re-learning hand work, the machine is my go to source. Except for this past weekend, when my daughter and I used a glue gun to make pocket purses!

  5. That reminds me my bag needs mending too! Love both bags and the colours are gorgeous.xx
    Quick note..have combined my ~Art and Life blogs together and my main blog is now http://chocolatelifeandjazz.blogspot.com
    if you have time..enjoyxxxx

  6. Chris Gray says:

    ..that felted wool looks delicious!

  7. Els says:

    The “winter bag” is gorgeous ! Love all the tweeds and the felt !

Comments are closed.