those falling leaves

Still working with silk, which is lovely but slightly demanding. I’m using silk batting in this piece and dupion silk for the backing, both of which can be difficult to work with. Silk batting needs a lot of ‘fussing’ with before it will sit properly, though it’s delightful to stitch by hand. I decided to use batting to give a little extra substance, and also a little extra dimension. It quilts beautifully.

As well as the silk pieces by Heike, I’m also using three pieces of silk dyed by Arlee. This one in the central panel features leaf prints, which I’m just quilting around.

I’m keeping it all very simple.

This entry was posted in art, In progress, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to those falling leaves

  1. Ah there is something so delicate and pretty about silk, beautiful work, I need me some silk!

  2. claire says:

    Really lovely.

  3. Els says:

    Beautiful Karen ! (didn’t use my scraps I’ve got from Heike yet …)
    I’m very intersted in the silk batting ? Never seen it (never looked for it that is probably)

  4. Amanda says:

    Very pretty. I did wadding samplers for my C&G and the silk was very strange! Almost alive and squirming but, like you said, very pleasant once you’d convinced it to play nicely!

  5. serenapotter says:

    yes very beautiful.

    our closest lqs pushes bamboo and the one made from the recycled bottles…never heard of silk. i keep thinking one year i’ll get brave and try a wool batt.

    • Karen Turner says:

      I used wool batting in my one-and-only double bed-sized quilt last year. Hand pieced and hand quilted, very warm, very easy to work with. Washes well, too. I have some of the quilter’s dream green batting (the recycled bottles one) – haven’t used it yet, but am currently planning a quilt for it. More on that very soon 🙂

      • serenapotter says:

        good. i like when i get reviews…do you remember which brand of wool you used? i’d probably order quilters dream because it is easy through our lqs….i tried some from the craft shop and they simply weren’t as good.

        i still really like mountain mist cream rose 100% cotton for my cotton batt….i’ve tried four others and none are as durable and easy to stitch through without migration when I de hoop, rehoop.

        • Karen Turner says:

          Hobbs heirloom wool batting. I’ve heard of misty mountain but haven’t seen it for sale here in the UK. I believe Roxanne McElroy recommends it her book ‘That Perfect Stitch’. I’ve tried the cheap stuff from the craft shop too – a bit flimsy and it tends to beard. I do admire anyone who can quilt with a hoop!

  6. Rachel says:

    Successful simplicity is hard to achieve – well done!

  7. Connie Rose says:

    Looking very beautiful…

  8. Jill says:

    ooh looking really really good – yummy stitching and gorgeous fabrics – lovely!

  9. annie! says:

    SIMPLY…beautiful!

  10. simple and beautifulxlynda

  11. Sorry forgot to ask… do you have the web address for The Silk Route where you get your batting from please? xlynda

  12. helen sa,o says:

    All silk is a little more demanding but the worse to me, is silk guaze, its’ like organza and just doesn’t want to play well with others. HA! Karen, This piece looks wonderful!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Helen. Yes, silk gauze is probably the most ‘difficult’ silk, unless you’re just top stitching it to the surface of something.

  13. Janice says:

    As far away from the felt and wool bag as it’s possible to get! It’s looking beautiful, Karen – and much easier on the fingers, although I’m sure the felt behaves itself better!

Comments are closed.