A woolly winter

After having finished the felted wool handbag, I thought I’d fish out the rest of my felted wool scraps, intending to make something else to use them up. It turns out that I have a lot more than I thought.

I collected these a few years ago from various sources. Most of these had to travel here from the US and some incurred unexpected additional import tax charges, which is why I didn’t repeat the exercise. I can’t remember what I intended to do with them originally. Most are recycled, from old blankets and clothing; some are my own hand-dyed craft felt. Given that I have about four times more than I thought, I wondered if I could randomly stitch them down to something quite large.

I’m using an old fleece throw that is about single-bed size, and just pinning wool shapes onto it until the space is filled. It’s a bit like doing a jigsaw puzzle and has been quite therapeutic.

I’m thinking of a lap quilt for the winter: felted wool on one side, soft fleece on the other. The felted wool doesn’t quite fit right to the edge of the fleece, leaving a border of about 8″ on each side. I’ll either cut off the excess fleece to make the wool throw a little smaller, or I’ll add a border in some other kind of fabric. I’m also thinking you could use this same technique with any kind of fabric, randomly stitched to a fleece backing.

This entry was posted in art, In progress, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A woolly winter

  1. Maggi says:

    Nice use of the pieces and it certainly will keep you warm

  2. Abigail says:

    oooo yummy!

  3. lacativad says:

    I started quilting in this manner…random shapes of various cotton prints stitched directly to a navy blue flannel fitted sheet…it was factory reject – one side had no pocket for the elastic – I cut the elastic off all the way around so it’s a great blob shape covered with eye breaking fabrics and still my favorite sleep under.

  4. Loralei says:

    What a fantastic idea- it certainly gives the fleece more character 🙂

  5. annie! says:

    I love that you carried your felt with you. When we moved to a new continent (well it’s old but new to us) last year, I brought EVERYthing and ended up paying lots for the container and taxes…but …just but.

    • Karen Turner says:

      The felt was just mail order from the US – the Customs charges seem to be quite random. Sometimes there’s a charge, sometimes there isn’t. Thankfully I’ve never had to move my belongings across continents! I can’t begin to imagine the expense…

  6. blandina says:

    I like it, what a great idea for recycling old sweaters. And so full of colour, this lap quilt would brighten anybody’s dark Winter.

  7. Connie Rose says:

    Great idea. Love the colors!

  8. Jude Whaites says:

    Love the idea and all the colours, it will make a great snuggle rug!

  9. tina says:

    love it, but watch the fleece, sometimes they stretch and misbehave, yours will probably be perfect though…back to the shisha….

  10. what an amazing woman you are woman…do you ever rest? Love how this piece is working out.xxlynda

  11. helen salo says:

    Yes, always creating! and such great works of art. Love the looks of this and the idea. Even though it’s random I still believe one puts some thought into it to make it so cohesive.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Actually you’re right. It took over four hours just to get the colours and shapes to sit nicely, then another few hours revising, pinning and tacking.

  12. Sweetpea says:

    …just plop me in front of a roaring fire wrapped up in that cozy thing, K!

  13. Sally jo says:

    Great idea. Such a beautiful idea!

  14. Rachel says:

    What a great way to use the pieces. And if you get fidgety fingers one evening when you are curled up underneath it, you can always embroider something on one of the patches!

  15. karen says:

    this is going to be amazing….

  16. Julierose says:

    Lovely woolies!! Really like that randomness–how do you plan to sew them together? Higgeldy–or some plan? Julierose

Comments are closed.