progress

I’m only working on this in the evenings, so it will take a while.

I’m calling it the amazing technicolour dream cloth. You would think that so many colours all together like this might be a bit much, but I think the redeeming factor lies in the quality of the shades. Mostly these are tertiary colours, once removed from secondary colours – so the greens tend to be reddish, the oranges tend to be blueish, etc. Tertiary colours work harder than primary or secondary colours and will pretty much go with anything, including each other.

Even though I generally don’t like frames or hoops, I did try to put this in one because I thought it might be easier to keep the patches flat and even. Because of the density of the fleece and wool combined, it’s too thick to go in any frame I’ve got. I’m just stitching the patches down with the rest of the cloth draped over my knees – and let me tell you, it’s already wonderfully warm. I’m using two strands of stranded embroidery thread, matched to the colour of the wool, and a small straight stitch over the edges. There is, however, a slight problem: cheap fleece is very, very stretchy; felted wool isn’t. It’s a challenge, but I’m working slowly and carefully, and it’s just fine so far. I’ll look at it again once all the  patches are stitched down as it will need more quilting over the larger pieces of wool felt.

For my day job, I’m working on something new – more of that maybe tomorrow.

This entry was posted in In progress, patchwork, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to progress

  1. Jeannie says:

    I love the colors. They are so rich looking.

  2. chloe says:

    Ooh, this is just the perfect companion for those deep grey winter days! Lovely 🙂

  3. Loralei says:

    Just looking at this makes me want to curl up by a fire… 🙂

  4. Maggi says:

    Very comforting. You are right about the colours. Hope you manage to tame that stretchy fleece.

  5. Jude Whaites says:

    This is a great project for the cool nights, I love the technicolour effect.

  6. Love the colours and l can just imagine what this must be like to cuddle up in, when finished. Um what exciting plans have you got for the daytime then!?Ha!

  7. Penny says:

    Looks lovely and warm! Perfect for these cool autumn nights.

  8. tina says:

    shame, if I lived nearer I would lend you a square, plastic quilting frame designed for the fatness, but its going to look great definately, then it needs some shisha mirrors for decoration[ why should I suffer alone]

    • Karen Turner says:

      What kind of frame is that, Tina? I have quite a variety, including a square plastic one with long clips that fit over the cylindrical sides, but no good for this. I’m doing OK without though. And there will definitely be no shisha mirrors! 😉

  9. Gina says:

    It looks wonderfully cosy and the colours work really well.

  10. Rachel says:

    The colours are gorgeous, and eventually the felted wool will stabilise the fleece for you..

  11. MoF says:

    So many ideas for finally finishing Granny’s garden patchwork started more years ago than I care to remember. The tps about stretchy fleec ehave given me pause for thought and the realisation that I am not the only person in the world to experience insomnia.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Rachel’s right, the wool does stabilise it, and the more you stitch, the more manageable it becomes. Good luck with that granny’s flower garden : -) x

Comments are closed.