Sampling (2)

Another rock art sample, this time using small pieces of cotton fabrics laid onto some quilt batting and quilted wtih a circular pattern.

I laid a piece of silk organza over the top before couching the design, though you can still see through the organza to the stitching beneath, which I like. Literal layers of meaning that you don’t have to look too hard for.

I’ll freely admit that I don’t know where these are going, yet, if in fact they’re going anywhere at all. I know that this has something to do with time, as does most of my work; the time that lies behind us, spent and gone, that still leaves its mark as evidence that it was there at all.

Making marks on rock thousands of years ago, making marks on cloth yesterday.

This entry was posted in art, samples, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sampling (2)

  1. I like the idea of the organza, a semi transparent layer, like trying to see through reflections on water, a little glimpse, transient and shifting. This is a lovely piece.

  2. I like thought of making marks on rock realized in gently fabrics.

  3. Victoria says:

    These pieces really are evocative of cave paintings, and truly have an ancient tribal feel. Well done!

  4. Connie Rose says:

    Really beautiful, Karen. I love that labyrinthine design with the couched thread.

  5. tina says:

    oh, that is really interesting, I really like your current work, interesting about the organza I will try that

  6. Like what l am seeing..interesting work x

  7. serenapotter says:

    these also made me think of labyrinths. i love both this and the previous one.

  8. Rachel says:

    It will be interesting to see where this series of ideas takes you. Possibly a whole voyage of discovery, and possibly into a quiet backwater of contemplation…

  9. kathy says:

    Very nice, Karen!

  10. Els says:

    This “see-through” layer is very good, just a haze of colour!

Comments are closed.