adding a little dimension

In progress on the work table. I photographed sections of the samples so far and then enlarged further sections on the photocopier – more of this later, but you can just see a bit of one of these towards the top of the photo above.

The purple/blue sample you can see in the picture is an exercise in adding a little dimension.

Just layered scrim and gauze, hand-dyed, laid onto a foundation onto which I added rings and circles of wadding. Like the others, about 8″ x 10″ or so. This is a nice manageable size for samples. I may make these up into a cloth book at some point, since I’m gathering quite a few now.

I like gauze as a top layer because of its loose weave – you can easily stretch and distort the warp and weft fibres to form a hole without having to cut it. However, it’s not at all hard wearing and pulls easily, so it’s only really any good for something that will be purely decorative.

I’m still working on the other sample you can see in the top picture so will be back when it’s done.

This entry was posted in art, samples, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to adding a little dimension

  1. This is wonderful, I love how you work with scrim and gauze, it adds delicacy and suggests fragility, very pretty.

  2. Chris Gray says:

    I’m enjoying this “Rock Art” series……are you likely to be coming to Harogate? …if so, I’d love to see some of them in the flesh 🙂

    • Karen Turner says:

      Harrogate this year is unlikely, I think – my usual mode of transport (ie the college bus) isn’t running this year. We’re also preparing for a house move, so I MUST NOT BUY MORE STUFF. I might go to Birmingham K & S next year though. Will let you know if I can make Harrogate after all 🙂

  3. maggi21 says:

    Loving the samples over the last few posts and these dimensional ones look so tactile.

  4. Flaming Nora says:

    Your work has been provoking a veritable landslide of emails round here! I forwarded a link of your last post to my Mum and her partner who are to put it mildly obsessed with rock art. And ever since then there have been discussions raging and photos hunted out, maps referenced and theories expounded. I suspect Ma has been e-mailing you too. And if she has then now you know how and why .Much fun had by all thank you!

  5. annie! says:

    I know this is an overused term…but I love the organic look of it.

  6. I too love Rock Art” as it is called. Did you see the bit in the Daily Mail yesrterday about drwaings of spotted horses in Rock Art? Your work is gorgeous and you are so talented. I learn so much from you..thanksxxlynda

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Lynda. I’m a Times reader so no, I didn’t see yesterday’s Mail. Sounds interesting, though. I only read The Times for the quality of its writing and for its cryptic crossword; I don’t agree with its politics!

  7. Regina Westmoreland says:

    Your work is so interesting! I love all the texture that this series has. Annie is right – it looks so organic!

  8. Karen, what an expression and addition the gauze brings. Looking from all the different angles that you present is very critical too. I can see different impression that the cloth makes present, at once it is a cover, a floating cloth/cloud, that foamy stuff that floats on top of water, recesses of time, dust that is left on rock from the wear and tear of the elements, lichen growth…just an endless list of possibilities. execution is perfect. it doesn’t looked stitched but more like its always been there. Thank you, Henrietta (ani)

  9. helen salo says:

    I’m glad others are starting to see what a great talent you are. I just love this with the gauze.

  10. Lynette (NZ) says:

    Love your colour choices and all that texture – yum.

  11. Rachel says:

    Adding the gauze does allow you to create a new range of textures – more options to explore!

  12. The textures and depths here are lovely. Wonderfully mystical dreamy shades.

Comments are closed.