Rings

I wanted to know how it would look if I randomly layered a few fabrics onto some batting and held the fabrics together with only straight stitches.

Having made a few straight-stitched rings, I then wondered if I could somehow thread the straight stitches with various yarns.

So I tried stuffed viscose ribbon, thick yarn, lots of strands of thin yarn – all just threaded through a thick blunt needle and carried under the stitches.

The pieced background almost looks like one piece if you stitch enough. Interesting.

This entry was posted in art, samples, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Rings

  1. Connie Rose says:

    WOW, this is really awesome. What a wonderful idea, and beautiful execution!

  2. Rachel says:

    Yes, it almost makes the fabrics melt into one another, doesn’t it. Now, I wonder where that idea might lead?

  3. Sweetpea says:

    I love the randomness of the lengths and angles of these stitches, K…and of course, you’d know already about my smitten-ness with couching ;>} This piece is so lively (for lack of a better word), what I mean is, a real good energy. Thanks for explaining the techniques – always appreciated!

  4. suzy says:

    I love the couched rings and the flow of the fabrics Karen!

  5. What a cool idea, kind of like reverse couching, brilliant!

  6. serenapotter says:

    really really drawn to what happened in the bottom right….something about the echo of that rust color carried from the plaid straight line fabric to the curve ring….that really speaks rock…especially gemstones cut in half to me.

  7. Penny says:

    i love this! I’m a bit fan of couching – hope to do much, much more in the coming months. This is beautifully executed.

  8. annie! says:

    very dimensional – keep wondering

  9. tina says:

    blimey, youv been busy thisI week, your mojo is definately firing on all cylinders, and I love it all

  10. I particularly like the little gauzey looking “dot.” looks a little like a spider’s nest. couching is the thing that is a little intimidating. i’ve always been in awe of Judy Martin’s pieces that seem to be one huge couching piece, which they are. very layered and not it the strict sense of many layers.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks; the gauze was an accident. Some of the layered fabrics didn’t quite meet up and you could see batting underneath, so I stuffed a bit of scrim under the surface to cover up the gap and snipped a circle into the surrounding fabrics. There’s no Great Design thing happening here, I just make it up as I go along!

  11. arlee says:

    ! YOWZA ! YOWZA! WOZWSA! WOWZA!

  12. helen salo says:

    You totally know just how to “get it right”. Your pieces ALWAYS meld so perfect. Compostion and flow is so important and you always pull it off. And ditto from me, what Arlee said! πŸ™‚

  13. sally jo says:

    i love how you challenge yourself. you learn, we learn, and i think this cloth is beautiful and awesome!

  14. judy martin says:

    This is a most fabulous piece, Karen.

  15. Abigail says:

    really beautiful

  16. Loving the rings, like crop marks caused by ring barrows on that lovely fused background.

Comments are closed.