layering

Just collecting and layering some images and motifs on paper, and just for my own amusement. Varying degrees of success, but since these are only for me and my records, that’s OK.

These are all watercolour and pencil on A3 paper, about 16″ x 11″. Some will make it to fabric and stitch, some probably won’t.

More painting/drawing/designing this week, letting images and lines sit together just to see where they go.

I now have a new shop on etsy, and have listed most of the ‘peace’ series art quilts along with one or two smaller pieces. The shop is very new and a little light on favourites and views, although Bozena was kind enough to feature two of my quilts in a couple of treasuries over the weekend. I don’t know how well I will fit into the etsy community, if at all, but am happy to try it for a while to see what happens.

This entry was posted in art, work on paper and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to layering

  1. Really appreciate seeing your sketches and the way you lay things out/think. I tend to scribble my thoughts or work it out as I go. Think it is valuable to see how others processes ideas. Thank you. Good luck with Etsy.

  2. Bozena says:

    Thank you for mentioning me 🙂 It was a pleasure to include your quilts because they are beautiful!
    Hope you will find etsy enviroment friendly and helpful. The only thing I didn’t know before was the amount of time one has to devote to it. So be prepared 🙂
    Happy sales!

  3. Penny says:

    I love to see how others approach their work — how do the ideas come, how do we translate the ideas into ‘the whole cloth’ if you will. Your sketches are very evocative. Your Etsy store is lovely — I wish you the best.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Penny. I usually skip this step – the designing on paper – and just go straight to cloth. This time I wanted to try something different.

  4. I love to see how you plan your work Karen..beautiful illustrations and plans. I wish l could do the same. I always had problems in collage because my “stuff” seems to grow and almost plan itself, even though l have an idea in my head to start with. If you asked me to draw what l was going to do..l’d fail! Art is a strange mistress isn’t it but a very enjoyable one..well most of the time?!Haxx beautiful work on Etsy by the way. I have not gone there yet..something holding me back..not sure what thoughxx good luckxx

    • Karen Turner says:

      As above, I hardly ever do it this way – but it can be good discipline, and good practice to try another way sometimes. Still, I’ll probably ignore everything I’ve done on paper and go back to cloth in the end. Taking the suck-it-and-see approach with etsy.

  5. Connie Rose says:

    Your Etsy shop looks wonderful, Karen. A gorgeous selection of your work!

  6. Rachel says:

    Good to see your musings and design ideas as well as stitched versions.

  7. These are lovely: like maps of archaeological sites. Good luck with the etsy shop. :o)

Comments are closed.