more on paper

And then I found some cave drawings of neolithic animals, already carved up into patchwork blocks:

Since the first thing our ancestors would have thought on seeing an animal like this was ‘dinner’, it seems perfectly natural that they should divide its body up into sections.

As I shuffle these patterns and drawings around, I’m also thinking more and more of the parts of a whole, and how fragments of cloth joined together tell that particular story so well. These are still no more than swirling ideas, like a cloud of autumn leaves stirred up by a gust of wind. Some will settle, some will blow away, some will get trampled underfoot. A period of exploration is always useful.

This entry was posted in art, In progress, work on paper and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to more on paper

  1. Rachel says:

    I particularly like the last of those pictures.. I’m distinctly intrigued about where this is going to take you!

  2. karen, it seems like these drawings have stand alone functions but they also express a larger whole. the whole person that makes them, yes, but also a whole thought, gesture. it is like looking through a microscope and seeing living organisms moving around on a slide…very intriguing. interesting, too, is the choice of color…color here whispers more then on your cloth where it speaks loudly and is meant to be heard.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Yes, you’re right, I think, about the colour. I’m not sure why I turn to paper now and then. It’s not to make ‘a design’ that will later happen in cloth. Maybe it’s just another way of thinking. This will somehow be a new series or a new direction but I don’t know enough about it yet. All will be revealed when it’s ready and I’m happy to wait and keep looking. Thanks for your input and insights; it was helpful.

  3. Loralei says:

    I really like where you are going with this; it will be so interesting to see how you interpret these ideas onto cloth…

  4. Penny says:

    Oh how I would love to see these animals all stitched up.

  5. helen salo says:

    like the drawings, am sure to LOVE the cloth rendition.

Comments are closed.