Legs

There are legs.

I’ve couched linen yarn over the seams and to outline. The background I prepared for this creature was about 12″ square, but I’m realising now that it needs to be somewhat larger. Acquiring legs means taking up more space. I’ll do something about that over the weekend.

The background is made from layered fabrics – linens, cottons and muslin – covered with semi-sheer chiffon, and ready for stitching.

More next week.

This entry was posted in art, In progress, textile art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Legs

  1. Jeannie says:

    I love this! It reminds me of ancient wall paintings. Wonderful!

  2. Rachel says:

    Great colours – love it!

  3. I like the contrast between the simple and ornate. Couching is a nice contrast too. Makes a big difference for a “flat” stitch. Somehow feel like it is animated.

  4. Katie says:

    I love it so far! This is going to be one of those “why didn’t I think of that?” pieces.

  5. dreambird says:

    I’m swooning for this legged creature!

  6. deanna7trees says:

    a most interesting creature.

  7. Loralei says:

    Great work- I love it!!

  8. deb says:

    He is wonderful! An ancient creature. Love the background.
    (Did you check out Elmer the Elephant? Some fun images on Google.)

  9. MoF says:

    Antelope or ant eater?

  10. I love how this is turning out!

  11. tina says:

    that couching really does it, doesnt it very klee—–my favourite

  12. karen says:

    you have created so many beautiful things since I was last here…I love your drawing and those rings…oh my goodness. They’re amazing!!!

  13. nadia says:

    I really like the design and colors on this piece. Also enjoyed your previous textile pieces–marvelous use of stitching, very creative.
    best from Tunisia,
    nadia

  14. its an interesting beast, sort of elmer the elephant meets the lascaux caves

Comments are closed.