borders

Reinforcing border defences. Always a good idea when there is a wild animal on the loose.

And then some decoration on the outer border, patched from various cotton and silk scraps. A single labyrinthine line couched in hand-dyed cotton yarn:

… and a spiral worked firstly in running stitch:

And then whipped running stitch, by wrapping the same thread around the stitches:

Really interesting how photographing work almost forces you to see it differently. Cropping out small areas so often shows up new compositions that you might otherwise never have noticed – as in the second photograph. I’m unexpectedly thinking that same composition, enlarged, might work as a stitched cloth. One thing at a time though, only one pair of hands. Today’s mantra: I am not an octopus.

 

This entry was posted in art, In progress, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to borders

  1. Penny B says:

    Oh, yes, the camera is such a useful tool when it comes to design.

  2. Deborah says:

    I love your mantra – should we all practice that especially this time of the year – Thank-you for the beautiful pictures and words.

  3. deanna7trees says:

    isolating areas definitely gives a new perspective…and sometimes a whole bunch of new ideas.

  4. Rachel says:

    The labyrinth has worked really well. Must remind myself, I am not an octopus either!

  5. Loralei says:

    I am not an octopus- what a great mantra! The whipped running stitch is beautiful- I think I’d like to try it sometime- wonder what the effect would be if contrasting colours were used?

    • Karen Turner says:

      Look forward to seeing you experiment 🙂
      You can get some really good effects by using two different threads – also different weights of thread. The whipping thread can be something quite fragile that you wouldn’t ordinarily be able to stitch with. Space-dyed threads are also good for this stitch. Have fun!

  6. So glad I found your wonderful, interesting textiley blog. I have been scrolling through your previous posts and your work is just stunning. Will be back to see more.

  7. Jan Marriott says:

    have not seen your blog for a couple of weeks but I am excited by the new route you are taking

  8. I look forward to your blog everyday. I love the work you are doing! Great mantra – especially during the holiday season!

  9. sally jo says:

    I love what you said about the wild horse on the loose – for me this really brought your cloth to life. Love your patchy border (corral) and stitches -ancient like your horse.

  10. Amanda says:

    But you’re still a bit of a Wonder Woman with your Lasso of Eternal Stitching and Indefatigable Bracelets of Design.

  11. The spiral and labyrinth are lovely. I have a real thing for the labyrinth design and spirals are magical. The piecing on the beast is fantastic. Hand or machine?

Comments are closed.