a little diversion

Got a bit sidetracked… Found some pictures of Stone Age owl plaques and vessels…

It wasn’t too far from this to cloth.

Note my very sore index finger!

This entry was posted in art, samples, textile art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to a little diversion

  1. Flaming Nora says:

    Lovely. I love the idea of a stone age owl that is soft and pocketable.

  2. Amanda says:

    Very cute!

  3. a perfect companion to seat on your shoulder while stitching…doesn’t every wizard have an owl…very nice. i particular like the colour. for some reason, it looks like it belong…stones gathering moss, lichen kind of way…

  4. Rachel says:

    The wise old owl sat in the oak…

    Maybe a small twiglet of oak to prop him against?

  5. Kristin McNamara Freeman says:

    Very much like the little owl! nice …..

  6. tina says:

    what a gorgeous little chap!!!!!

  7. sally jo says:

    This is such a sweet owl as is the inspirational owls. Where did you find these pictures? Now I want to make a couple owls and maybe a feather or two.

    • Karen Turner says:

      I’m afraid I can’t remember where I got these from… These are sketches I found in an old sketch book and I forgot to note the sources. However, if you do an internet search for images ‘neolithic owl art’ or similar, you should find plenty of ideas. Good luck with those owls and feathers 🙂

  8. Lynette (NZ) says:

    Beautiful owl 🙂

  9. Loralei says:

    What a beautiful little owl! My daughter simply LOVES them… Your finger looks just like mine did, before I bought myself a lovely leather thimble… perhaps Santa will bring you one for your stocking 🙂

    • Karen Turner says:

      I have about half a dozen various thimbles (including a leather one) and can’t get on with any of them. I just have permanently sore fingers…

  10. liz price says:

    he is cute, i am going to have tomake one. Is there stitching on the back as well?
    I have a soapstone owl that looks just like the sketch you have done
    Liz Price

    • Karen Turner says:

      No stitching on the back; thought about it and decided not to on this occasion. Your soap stone owls must be based on a very ancient design.

  11. karen says:

    has your wise owl given any tips on how to keep fingers trauma free??? and no Harrogate!! Why??

  12. Penny says:

    Absolutely precious!!

  13. blandina says:

    The owl is a delight. I also like the forest colours that you chose.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Blandina. I only have a very tiny bit of this hand-dyed cotton – maybe enough for another one or two little owls. I like the colour too and wish I’d dyed more as I can’t remember how I mixed the colours!

  14. The sweetest little owl! He looks like he has the wisdom of ages in those eyes, a perfect stitching companion, a magic owl? I think so….

  15. Seriously cute owl, although apparently since so much of the head/brain is taken up with eyes/hearing they are actually as thick as two short planks!

  16. Janice says:

    Lovely! Hope your finger is better now – looks very sore.

Comments are closed.