Out of the cave

The cave creature is finished, and fenced in by a border of applied scraps. Containing the beast can be difficult at times, and there can be a fine line between wildness and civilisation. I guess we are all pretty wild in our own way, trying our best to be domesticated and live within the confines of the society we invented.

I often think that the violence we see in our society comes from the frustration of overcrowding. Cram too many wild human animals into one space and some will become very aggressive while others become withdrawn and passive. Some of us build our own walls very high for safety; some of us don’t know where the boundaries lie.

Thankfully for this particular beast, he has all the space he needs, as well as the security that a boundary brings.

There are a few demands on my time this week so I’ll be retreating to my own cave for a few days.

This entry was posted in art, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Out of the cave

  1. chloe says:

    That’s exactly what I think about the violence of society – we’re just not designed to live with so many others in such small areas. I’m very lucky to live where I am in the country – I would never choose city life again. Civilisation is only ever a thin veneer, but people don’t understand their wild cores anymore, or rather, they don’t get an opportunity to express their wildness in a natural way – by being in nature, and space. There’s an excellent book by Jay Griffiths called ‘Wild’ which I can’t recommend enough 🙂

    Loving the cavework and your beautiful beastie!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks for the book recommendation, Chloe. I think many of us forget that we’re semi-domesticated animals. Very clever animals, but animals nevertheless.

  2. Viv says:

    I love your cave creature, and your thought provoking words. I think we all need to acknowledge our wild sides in a more healthy way instead of trying to oversanitize our selves.

  3. I agree with your comments about overcrowding, humans are very territorial and community spirit is virtually non existant in the UK, as it would have been in old times on communes and settlements. I was spoiled living in France with so much space, I really feel the pain of being more cramped now (and by most peoples standards we still have reasonable space), I crave privacy and peace, roo to grow, as a family, individual and phsyically growing what our family needs, without land people have forgotten how to provide for themselves, I do believe that is the greatest loss to society. I am loving your cave beast!

  4. MoF says:

    I am already in my cave (as it is Bah! humbug! time again) I really wouldn’t mind sharing my cave with your beautiul beastie. He is gorgeous!!* and a real wild child with all those lovely colours.

  5. Penny says:

    Love this gorgeous beast!! The colors are magnificent and you’ve surrounded him beautifully. Here in the States we have room but so many are driven to crowded places for their livelihood. I would say that the desire to ‘have everything’ is another driver of violence. We’ve gone so far beyond our abilities to enjoy the basics of life – food, shelter, each other, etc. Wanting more, more, more of everything in an overcrowded world is bound to create an atmosphere of violence.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Yes, I think you’re right, Penny. Though I think the desire to ‘have everything’ is misplaced desire to have the basic freedoms that we’ve lost. Often it’s not the ‘things’ that people actually want. I believe if they looked deeper, what they actually want is a quality that they believe that thing can bestow.

  6. Penny B says:

    Handsome caved beast indeed…just civilized enough…just wild enough.

  7. Loralei says:

    Oh my gosh- I can’t even describe how those colours and that beast make me feel!! And I completely agree with your thoughts as well. Though we live in a small space, we are fortunate enough to find wilderness trails near to our home, and are daily blessed with the sights of eagles, hawks, and heron. Camping is how we satiate our wild side.. I hope that your week goes well, and look forward to hearing from you when you emerge from your own cave again..

  8. As usual last to get here….Haxx all has been said…so enjoy your cosy cave and keep safexxlynda

  9. Rachel says:

    He’s a charming beastie, just wild enough to be interesting and just civilised enough for communication – well done!

  10. Connie Rose says:

    I completely agree about too many people — the cause of everything going wrong with this planet. I’ll stop there before I get riled up.

    I love your beast!

  11. suzy says:

    Beautiful representation here Karen!
    I tend to agree with Penny’s comments and I bless everyday for the beautiful environment, space and peace we have created on our property and take none of it for granted even the fact that we are here. All of this allows us the opportunity to not be confined and to be able to express our creative talents unhindered! Your piece is just beautiful!
    Join in my current Giveaway if you wish on my blog!
    Blessings,
    Suzy

  12. he looks wonderful

    although now I do fancy venison for dinner…

  13. helen S. says:

    I love this beast and how you did the boardering. Sticking with the comment of wildness and civilization and just the animals (not getting into the people/violence heavy discussion) it is amazing the wildlife around here that we (man) have encroached upon and left almost homeless. They have become oblivious to vehicles, etc. there is even a huge sign in metorpolitian Detroit telling one not to veer for deer and really it is not a n enviroment one would think contained any wild animals, and the deer truly act as if “I was here first, you get out of MY way” ha!

  14. tina says:

    you could be right there, pretty quiete where I live, and theres lots of wide open spaces, lovely work, as usual

    • Karen Turner says:

      I currently live in a city – noisy, brash, violent at times, overcrowded. It has its green spaces but they’re few and far between. What parks we have are littered with empty Special Brew cans and worse. I watch people sometimes and think about why they behave like that.

  15. deb says:

    I love how you’ve finished your beast. The border is wonderful. I am becoming more and more a hermit these days, avoiding the city and the big shopping centres, anywhere there are crowds of people.

  16. sally jo says:

    I love your cave animal and border as well. It looks so modern yet looks like the art of the ancients – timeless, isn’t it. I appreciate your comments on overcrowding. I prefer a simple life where each day can be enjoyed.

  17. karen says:

    this is a lovely piece Karen….enjoy your retreat.

  18. Wild beasts – I teach 5-11yr olds in a deprived area. Enough said. I much prefer the deer.

    • Karen Turner says:

      And in a former life I taught English to 11-16s, inner city comprehensive. I know what you mean! I still have nightmares about it.

  19. nadia says:

    Hi, Karen. Lovely border for your deer design. They enhance each other. And you’re so right about the problems of overcrowding. I love the peace of living on a small farm…despite all the work it entails.
    best, nadia

  20. Janice says:

    This is wonderful, Karen. I’ve enjoyed seeing it progress from sketch to basic shape to finished project. I love the strong colours – and the balance between those in the animal and those in the border.

  21. blandina says:

    This is truly beautiful, I like the idea of the ‘frame’. You are a genius.

Comments are closed.