Circling time

Still working on this ring of stones seen from above.

The background is a piece of patchwork I pieced some time ago, about 12″ square – squares of time joined together, minutes merging into hours. 

I have a birthday this week. It always surprises me that one day you can wake up not just a day older but officially a whole year older. Strange how we mark time, saving it up into a parcel before acknowledging its passing. And how time is so obviously circular on birthdays and anniversaries, coming round year after year. And of course it’s not just me that’s a year older than I was a year ago. You are too, regardless of when you celebrate the anniversary of your own birth. So happy birthday to you, too!

This entry was posted in art, In progress, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Circling time

  1. Jeannie says:

    Your patchwork is beautiful and I love the stones. Wishing you a very happy birthday and a new year to expand your creative talents. Cheers to you!!!

  2. Happy Birthday. Time is fascinating don’t you think. I’ve started thinking in terms of taking forward with me all the experience that I’ve gained over time, so although I’m probably ‘more than half way through’, in fact all time going forward is richer and more rewarding than it was, because I have the benefit of all that time behind me. Does that make any sense? I’m no philosopher, but it feels good to me.

  3. Lis says:

    Happy birthday to you. I’ve recently decided to think that time, like weight, is just numbers….

  4. Loralei says:

    Time itself is an odd concept, isn’t it? Not tangible, but not ethereal either. I believe that as long as we make the most of what time we have, it is time well spent. With that thought, my wish for you is that the future offers you many dreams come true, much health, and a reason to laugh every day… Happy Birthday to you!!

  5. Bea says:

    Happy Birthday! May your new year be bountiful. x

  6. nadia says:

    Hi, Karen. I finally worked my way back through to the beginning of your blog–very enjoyable to see your journey. You have produced lovely work and shown your process, which has included thought, reflexion and planning. Happy birthday and have a happy holiday season. Looking forward to seeing your projects in the new year.
    best, nadia

  7. I love your piece work and your applique – the cloth is looking wonderful! Have a glorious birthday! Regina

  8. Connie Rose says:

    Happy birthday to you, Karen! Hope the next year is your best yet!

  9. Jan Marriott says:

    Happy Birthday, Karen.
    Time conversation with granddaughter , when she was about 4.
    GD,… will you teach me knitterling (I was knitting) Nana?
    Me.., well, when you are a bit older, maybe 5 years old is the right time to learn
    GD…., (after considerable thought) Are you 5 yet, Nana?
    I suppose time is different for us all.

  10. Katie says:

    Happy birthday! Mine is next week and as I’m turning 30, I’ve been pondering age and our conception of time. Most of my peers have been freaking out with this small milestone and I’m trying to block that out and look at it positively.

    I’m looking forward to seeing this piece finished. I keep coming back to your work and feel inspired. Thank you for that. 🙂

  11. Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday dear Karen, happy birthday to you! Be so glad you can’t hear me singing this!Haxxhave a great dayxx love the stonesxxxxlynda

  12. serenapotter says:

    Happy Birthday Karen. It’s the 7th isn’t it? I think technically, because of the time zone I missed it. Apologies. I hope you had a fabulous birthday!

  13. Rachel says:

    Happy birthday! (even if I did get here a day late!). Like you, I’m constantly surprised by the passage of time. I didn’t notice my thirtieth birthday had passed until I was thirty-two!

  14. sandra says:

    Happy birthday!!!
    Hope you had a fine day.

  15. Karen Turner says:

    Thank you for all the lovely birthday greetings 🙂

  16. tina says:

    definately feeling older– need to stitch more….

  17. karen says:

    a very happy birthday from me too….and like your previous commenter I am not yet 5!!

  18. I love the way this is progressing. With each stitch it seems to be slowly revealing more of itself. Now I just need to be able to read the language it’s speaking in.

  19. deedeemallon says:

    Happy Birthday Karen!! It must have been hard to embellish on top of your patchwork, after so many hours of work, but it was clearly worth the risk!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Dee. I couldn’t think what else I would do with it so had little to lose by trying – and was pleasantly surprised by the results. I think next time I probably wouldn’t go to the trouble of actually piecing the background – probably just layering scraps would have had the same effect and would have taken less time.

Comments are closed.