Full circle

‘Ring of Time’ is now complete and in the shop awaiting a new home. It measures about 19″ square. I ought to measure cloths in time rather than inches, but I lost count of the number of hours.

A cloth that holds the time I gave it.

This entry was posted in art, patchwork, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Full circle

  1. connie rose says:

    It’s beautiful, Karen!

  2. suzy says:

    Yes this is gorgeous Karen and the purchaser of this will really know it’s worth in hours!!!
    Have a quiet and relaxed Christmas season with many thoughtful stitches!
    Suzy

  3. serenapotter says:

    you’re fast.
    it’s beautiful!

  4. Chris Gray says:

    A gorgeous piece of work Karen!

    I like the idea of turning something “hard” (standing stones) into something soft and tactile…

  5. karen says:

    lovely…I added this to my favourites as soon as I saw it on flickr.

  6. Rachel says:

    You have some lovely colours in that piece…

  7. Karen, The piece is wonderful! How do you get your patchwork to look so nice and flat and your seams to all match up so well? It seems I’m always a little off on my seam matching and I always have gathers. Do you tack down your seam allowances?

    • Karen Turner says:

      I piece most of my patchwork by hand over paper, Regina. I dug around in my past posts and found this tutorial, if it’s of any interest:
      http://stitchinglife.com/2011/05/02/english-paper-piecing/
      I find it’s the only way I can really match up seams accurately. The seam allowances are tacked to the paper backing until everything is stitched together, then you can press the whole thing and remove the tacking and papers. It takes longer, but I think you get better results. Hope this is helpful 🙂

  8. sally jo says:

    Your stitching is so beautiful, and it is a real treat to watch the process. Love the reds together.

  9. chloe says:

    I just read your tutorial, thanks for making it so clear! I’ve been struggling with matching seams to the point of abandoning projects completely, but you have re-fired (or should I say defrosted?) my enthusiasm – now at last I understand what freezer paper is for and how to use it properly, I’ll give it a go. Brilliant! 🙂

    Beautiful cloth, by the way, it glows! I see it as shapes transformed from stone through textile to light…

  10. It’s come together beautifully.

Comments are closed.